Stories by Judith Sutherland

Learning about farming from a pro

Thursday, November 13, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland is set straight by a 2-year-old farmer.

Learning to love the journey

Thursday, November 6, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland reflects on life’s journeys, major bumps in the road, and going on.

Contemplating a harvest at sea

Thursday, October 30, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland shares tidbits from a good read, and a good soul-searching.

A community watches a child grow

Thursday, October 23, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland shares the celebration of her son’s 17th birthday with his entire Farm and Dairy family.

A time to plant, a time to reap

Thursday, October 16, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland enjoys autumn through her memories.

Embrace the gifts that bless our lives

Thursday, October 9, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland reflects on the thoughts of author Anna Quindlen on how to lead a happy life.

Good soil and clear water work wonders

Thursday, October 2, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland shares some reasoning behind her fascination with water.

Johnny Cash’s legacy speaks for itself

Thursday, September 25, 2003

Johnny Cash was strumming in a whole lot of backgrounds across this great American heartland over the course of the last 50 years, writes columnist Judith Sutherland.

School starts: Cort stays home again

Thursday, September 18, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland continues fighting for her son’s health.

Teach children to live in the moment

Thursday, September 11, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland urges adults to give children all the kindness in the world to help with their monumental decisions.

Daddy and his helpers make a great team

Thursday, September 4, 2003

A farm is a finely tuned machine, and a good leader always needs a good crew, even if the crew is a young one.

Travel journals: Sure glad to be home

Thursday, August 28, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland muses over journal entries and the happiness of being home after a trip.

Appreciating the small gifts in life

Thursday, August 21, 2003

The recent blackout reminded columnist Judith Sutherland of the blessings we take for granted.

Farmer learns to live by the weather

Thursday, August 14, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland concludes a series on Charles Smart, who learned in the 1930s that farmers live by the weather.

Be kind to your friends and neighbors

Thursday, August 7, 2003

Reading about farming in the 1930s has lasting message, columnist Judith Sutherland finds, as she continues her look at the book, RFD.

Farmers: ‘The happiest men on earth’

Thursday, July 31, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland reminds us that farmers are experts in their field.

A good book with good insight

Thursday, July 24, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland shares her perception on the 1938 bestseller RFD, which continues its popularity today.

Summer: Time to stop and smell the roses

Thursday, July 17, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland appreciates the joys of summer – especially its glorious middle.

Just a stock cane, Bill and me

Thursday, July 10, 2003

Bringing in the cows was columnist Judith Sutherland’s first chore on her family’s dairy farm, and she couldn’t have done it without a dog named Bill.

Counting diamonds in the road of life

Thursday, July 3, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland says life is what happens while we are making plans.

eNewsletter

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

About Judith

Judith Sutherland, born and raised on an Ohio family dairy farm, now lives on a 70-acre farm not far from the area where her father’s family settled in the 1850s. Appreciating the tranquility of rural life, Sutherland enjoys sharing a view of her world through writing. Other interests include teaching, reading, training dogs and raising puppies. She and her husband have two children, a son and a daughter, in college.