Stories by Judith Sutherland

Farmer learns to live by the weather

Thursday, August 14, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland concludes a series on Charles Smart, who learned in the 1930s that farmers live by the weather.

Be kind to your friends and neighbors

Thursday, August 7, 2003

Reading about farming in the 1930s has lasting message, columnist Judith Sutherland finds, as she continues her look at the book, RFD.

Farmers: ‘The happiest men on earth’

Thursday, July 31, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland reminds us that farmers are experts in their field.

A good book with good insight

Thursday, July 24, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland shares her perception on the 1938 bestseller RFD, which continues its popularity today.

Summer: Time to stop and smell the roses

Thursday, July 17, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland appreciates the joys of summer – especially its glorious middle.

Just a stock cane, Bill and me

Thursday, July 10, 2003

Bringing in the cows was columnist Judith Sutherland’s first chore on her family’s dairy farm, and she couldn’t have done it without a dog named Bill.

Counting diamonds in the road of life

Thursday, July 3, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland says life is what happens while we are making plans.

Music makes life complete and amazing

Thursday, June 26, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland’s life is a patchwork of songs, each tune bringing back a memory all its own.

Veterinarian is blessed healer, friend

Thursday, June 19, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland reflects on having a veterinarian and friend right around the corner.

Fast food from farm girl’s perspective

Thursday, June 12, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland reminisces on the olden days, when fast food meant frying up a dozen eggs in minutes.

Varied paths: Growing up, moving on

Thursday, June 5, 2003

Another benchmark in life gives columnist Judith Sutherland food for thought.

Two phone calls interrupt spring joy

Thursday, May 29, 2003

Warmer weather lures us outdoors, but columnist Judith Sutherland adds words of caution: Keep an eye out for ticks.

The life of a constant contest winner

Thursday, May 22, 2003

A mother’s mind is one of the most ingenius in the world, and columnist Judith Sutherland shares a particularly crafty mother’s story.

Vote: The most aggravating farm animal

Thursday, May 15, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland explains her views on the most annoying and aggravating farm stock.

Cherishing the storyteller’s tales

Thursday, May 8, 2003

Embrace the stories that the elderly can share, says columnist Judith Sutherland. The wisdom and experience is invaluable.

National stories cause heartbreak

Thursday, May 1, 2003

Lives can change in an instant, something columnist Judith Sutherland ponders in this week’s column.

Making an ordinary day simply sparkle

Thursday, April 24, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland talks about her good buddy Sean Casey – also known as the Cincinnati Reds’ first baseman.

Judith Sutherland:Country life mirrored in Zippy book

Thursday, April 17, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland finds a big that mirrors her life to a “T.”

Embracing silence in a noisy world

Thursday, April 10, 2003

Columnist Judith Sutherland reminds us to stop and smell the roses (or hear simple truths).

Lifelong desire for rich, green fields

Thursday, April 3, 2003

Meeting Louis Bromfield sparked the desire of columnist Judith Sutherland’s father to become a farmer.

eNewsletter

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

About Judith

Judith Sutherland, born and raised on an Ohio family dairy farm, now lives on a 70-acre farm not far from the area where her father’s family settled in the 1850s. Appreciating the tranquility of rural life, Sutherland enjoys sharing a view of her world through writing. Other interests include teaching, reading, training dogs and raising puppies. She and her husband have two children, a son and a daughter, in college.