Similar to All About Grazing

All Categories

  • Calendar says it’s spring: Ready for grazing season?

  • Even though it’s winter, there’s still plenty of pasture work to be done

  • Summer grazing is in full swing (but it’s not too early to think winter)

All About Grazing Results

Pasture seeding oats, annual ryegrass

Wednesday, December 31, 2003

When seeding directly to pasture, there are some guidelines to follow that help to ensure success.

Supplementing low-quality forage

Thursday, December 18, 2003

From one extreme to another, farmers have had it all.

Grazing … on corn silage stubble?

Thursday, December 4, 2003

Twenty-three acres of forage will provide grazing for at least 50 days for the 24 dairy heifers at Ohio State’s Waterman Dairy Farm.

Planning your winter feeding strategy

Thursday, November 20, 2003

This week’s All About Grazing column: Looking ahead could pay bigger dividends than anything else you do in preparing for winter.

Grazing system is a balancing act

Thursday, November 6, 2003

The heart of grazing livestock is finding the balance between what the animal needs and what pastures can produce.

All About Grazing:Plan now to keep your cows grazing through winter’s worst

Thursday, October 23, 2003

Most Ohio winters are relatively mild, but do you have a grazing plan in case your buried in deep snow?

A look at dairy grazing profitability

Thursday, September 25, 2003

Wayne County Extension Agent Tom Noyes shares numbers crunched on New York dairies.

Timing is everything to stockpiling

Thursday, August 21, 2003

If the weather cooperates, stockpiling can produce an extra 2,000 pounds of forage to be grazed.

Look ahead to winter feeding season

Thursday, August 7, 2003

What will this summer’s forage season do to your feeding plans next winter? This week’s “All About Grazing” column reminds you of the little things that have lasting importance.

A look at Ohio’s small grain grazing

Thursday, July 24, 2003

Agriculture agent David Samples gives a brief overview on what he’s learned about grazing small grain crops.

Summer grazing: What do we do now?

Thursday, July 3, 2003

The question is what do we do with the overmature pasture and hay we have to contend with now and as our winter feed supply?

A grazing situation: Quality vs. quantity

Thursday, June 26, 2003

Managing grazed pastures this spring has been a challenge. Should you focus on quantity or quality?

All about grazing between grain crops

Thursday, June 12, 2003

There are many benefits to combining pasture-based livestock production and cash grain production on the same farm.

Grazers need to take a pasture walk

Thursday, May 29, 2003

Take a good, critical look at the grazing resources on your farm, advises Holmes County Extension Agent Dean Slates in this week’s “All About Grazing” column.

Supplementing cows on pasture

Thursday, May 15, 2003

In management intensive grazing, energy is the limiting nutrient for high producing dairy cows.

Llamas, alpacas need good pastures

Thursday, May 1, 2003

What’s the best pasture mix for llamas and alpacas? They’re not picky, but an Ohio State grazing expert offers tips in this week’s All About Grazing column.

Do your math! Manure smells more like money

Thursday, April 17, 2003

Extension agent does th e math for the value of organic fertilizers.

Rotational grazing is easy, beneficial

Thursday, April 3, 2003

Grazing columnist Mark Landefeld writes from personal experience: Getting started is the hardest part.

Time, patience, could make Kura clover a permanent pasture

Thursday, March 20, 2003

Kura establishment has been characterized this way: “First year it sleeps, second year it creeps, third year it leaps.”

Getting ready for spring grazing

Thursday, March 6, 2003

Developing and managing what you have is often more cost effective than trying to completely renovate a pasture or grazing system.

eNewsletter

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox