Similar to All About Grazing

All Categories

  • Pastures and pipelines: Projects are not as simple as you think

  • Calendar says it’s spring: Ready for grazing season?

  • Even though it’s winter, there’s still plenty of pasture work to be done

All About Grazing Results

Planning your fall/winter grazing

Thursday, August 26, 2004

August is the month to begin planning your fall/winter grazing.
By the end of August many practices will have to be implemented in order to maximize forage production.

Start reducing costs of winter feed

Thursday, August 12, 2004

Grazing expert tells you what to do now to prepare for winter feeding.

Got strategy? Plan grazing now for fall

Thursday, July 15, 2004

Grazing expert Pat Dyer says it’s time to get serious about management for the rest of the year.

Grazing secret is smaller paddocks

Thursday, July 1, 2004

Managing grazing can have a greater effect on the pasture than any other part of pasture management.

Time for some proactive pasture plans

Thursday, June 3, 2004

Grazing guru Dean Slates recommends taking a critical look at your grazing resources.

Not all dairy graziers created equal

Thursday, May 20, 2004

Major differences show among groups of above-average dairy graziers. Is your dairy doing all that’s possible to up efficiency and production?

Grazing requires management plan

Thursday, March 25, 2004

Spring is one of the most difficult times of the year to properly manage forages. Read more in this week’s “All About Grazing” column.

Are pasture grasses ready for turnout?

Thursday, March 11, 2004

Jeff McCutcheon walks graziers through springtime pasture starts and management.

Fertilize spring pastures with nitrogen

Thursday, February 26, 2004

Do your pastures need nitrogen fertilizer? Learn more about the best times to apply.

Might be time for endophyte test

Thursday, February 12, 2004

Ryegrass can contain toxic levels of endophyte, says Dave Barker, this week’s columnist.

Pasture seeding oats, annual ryegrass

Wednesday, December 31, 2003

When seeding directly to pasture, there are some guidelines to follow that help to ensure success.

Supplementing low-quality forage

Thursday, December 18, 2003

From one extreme to another, farmers have had it all.

Grazing … on corn silage stubble?

Thursday, December 4, 2003

Twenty-three acres of forage will provide grazing for at least 50 days for the 24 dairy heifers at Ohio State’s Waterman Dairy Farm.

Planning your winter feeding strategy

Thursday, November 20, 2003

This week’s All About Grazing column: Looking ahead could pay bigger dividends than anything else you do in preparing for winter.

Grazing system is a balancing act

Thursday, November 6, 2003

The heart of grazing livestock is finding the balance between what the animal needs and what pastures can produce.

All About Grazing:Plan now to keep your cows grazing through winter’s worst

Thursday, October 23, 2003

Most Ohio winters are relatively mild, but do you have a grazing plan in case your buried in deep snow?

A look at dairy grazing profitability

Thursday, September 25, 2003

Wayne County Extension Agent Tom Noyes shares numbers crunched on New York dairies.

Timing is everything to stockpiling

Thursday, August 21, 2003

If the weather cooperates, stockpiling can produce an extra 2,000 pounds of forage to be grazed.

Look ahead to winter feeding season

Thursday, August 7, 2003

What will this summer’s forage season do to your feeding plans next winter? This week’s “All About Grazing” column reminds you of the little things that have lasting importance.

A look at Ohio’s small grain grazing

Thursday, July 24, 2003

Agriculture agent David Samples gives a brief overview on what he’s learned about grazing small grain crops.

eNewsletter

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox