All Categories

  • How to display the American flag

  • How to safely can food: 4 tips for home food preservation

  • How to manage insects in the garden

How To Results

5 tips for creating a pet-friendly garden

Tuesday, March 24, 2015

Know which plants are toxic to your pets before you let them loose in your garden.

How to eat seasonally this spring

Tuesday, March 17, 2015

As the first official day of spring quickly approaches, the thought of fresh fruits and vegetables comes to mind in anticipation of a new growing season.

Food storage tips for pantry, fridge and freezer

Tuesday, March 10, 2015

Food storage for some items, like dairy products and meat, are no-brainers, but others may come as a surprise.

March’s gardening to-do list

Tuesday, March 3, 2015

As the first official day of spring approaches, there’s gardening prep work to complete.

5 tips for keeping cut flowers fresh

Saturday, February 14, 2015

Fresh cut flowers need special care to keep them healthy and long-lasting.

How to start a container garden

Tuesday, February 10, 2015

Whether you only use a few small clay pots or plant large plastic tubs, container gardening is a viable option for many gardeners.

How to render lard, the easy way

Friday, February 6, 2015

Like many homespun skills, DIY lard is making a comeback.

February’s gardening to-do list

Tuesday, February 3, 2015

Though few, February’s gardening tasks let gardeners get a head start on spring planting.

Take care of houseplants this winter

Wednesday, January 28, 2015

There are simple ways to keep your plants healthy indoors until spring weather begins.

How to test your garden’s soil

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

A soil test will provide information about the nutrients as well as the pH level of your garden’s soil.

eNewsletter

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox