Remember to scoot to the FSA office if wet weather prevented wheat planting

COLUMBUS — Ohio wheat producers who have not been able to plant wheat because of the excessive wet weather have an extension before they must report the acreage to the Farm Service Agency.

Growers must report production numbers within 15 calendar days after the final planting date.

Ohio has two deadline dates, either Oct. 20 or Oct. 31, depending on where you farm. Both have been extended.

County deadlines. Producers who farm in 25 counties in Ohio, have until the final planting date of Oct. 31 to plant fall wheat. These counties include: Cuyahoga, Butler, Hamilton, Warren, Clinton, Clermont, Brown, Highland, Adams, Ross, Pike, Scioto, Vinton, Jackson, Lawrence, Gallia, Meigs, Athens, Morgan, Washington, Noble, Monroe, Guernsey, Belmont and Jefferson.

Farmers who were prevented from planting wheat by the final planting date in these counties have until Nov. 15 to visit their local FSA county office and report the prevented planting acreage.

Producers that farm in the other 63 counties in Ohio, had until the final Federal Crop Insurance Corporation planting date of Oct. 20 to plant fall wheat. Producers and farmers who were prevented from planting wheat by the final planting date in these counties now have until Nov. 4 to report the prevented planting acreage.

About the Author

Kristy Foster Seachrist lives in Columbiana County raising sheep and horses. She earned her degree from Youngstown State University and has worked in both print and broadcast journalism. You can follow her on Twitter at More Stories by Kristy Foster Seachrist

Leave a Comment

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.


Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Most Popular Stories

More News