Community college signs agreement with Penn State: Students can transfer to Penn State

Penn State logo

UPPER BURRELL, Pa. — Butler County Community College students can now make a smoother transition to 14 Penn State Commonwealth campuses through an articulation agreement signed Oct. 7.

Students at the community college who earn an associate degree can transfer all of their credits toward a similar bachelor’s degree program offered at Penn State’s six western Pennsylvania campuses — Beaver, DuBois, Fayette, Greater Allegheny, New Kensington, and Shenango.

In addition, Butler’s graduates can transition to four-year programs at eight other Commonwealth campuses — Brandywine, Hazleton, Lehigh Valley, Mont Alto, Schuylkill, Wilkes-Barre, Worthington Scranton or York.

This agreement opens up opportunities for BC3 students to obtain four-year degrees in a number of disciplines through Penn State campuses.

The New Kensington campus offers BC3 graduates eight bachelor’s degree programs: administration of justice; business; communications; electro-mechanical engineering technology; information sciences and technology; nursing; and psychology (bachelor of arts and bachelor of science).

When transferring to Penn State, community college students must apply for admission, submit required transcripts, and meet Penn State’s admissions requirements. Penn State’s application fees will be waived for BC3 students who apply for baccalaureate programs.

Penn State campuses have a variety of scholarships available to community college transfer students.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.