Four volunteers log more than 121 years


COLUMBUS – The Ohio 4-H Hall of Fame inducted Tom McNutt of Franklin County, Doug Michaelis of Wood County, Karen Murray of Lorain County and Sharen O’Brock of Mahoning County during the 10th annual Ohio 4-H Volunteer Conference earlier this year.
Tom McNutt was recognized for his 26 years in extension where he helped develop thousands of youth through 4-H. In addition, McNutt assisted the members of the Franklin County Friends of 4-H to raise $46,000 for the 4-H program; he served on the foundation board of the All American Youth Horse Show, and he continues to support Franklin County youth as a frequent and generous bidder at the Franklin County Junior Fair.
Doug Michaelis, a 27-year 4-H volunteer, is known as the founder of collegiate 4-H at Bowling Green State University. He is also an advisor of the Tontogany Four Leaf Clovers 4-H club in Wood County and serves on the Wood County senior fair board.
Karen Murray, a 36-year 4-H volunteer, was instrumental in the growth and development of the Lorain County 4-H Endowment and the Ohio 4-H Center campaign.
She worked with volunteers to the county endowment fund, which is now the largest county 4-H endowment.
Sharen O’Brock, a 35-year 4-H volunteer, was instrumental in developing the 4-H Endowment Fund for Mahoning County. She also organized two county clubs, both of which are more than 30 years old and each has grown to over 50 members.
More than 1,200 volunteers from 81 of Ohio’s 88 counties attended the conference to recognize the Hall of Fame winners.
Conference participants were also able to select from more than 90 training and informational sessions to learn new program areas and exchange ideas.
Other awards. Other award recipients include:
Ohio Friend of 4-H Award: David Betts, Licking County; Butler Technology & Career Development Schools, Butler County; Chris Copeland, Harrison County; Bob McCoy, Hamilton County;
Meritorious Service Award: Joy Feldner, Noble County; Barbara Rushley, Franklin County;
Community Service Award: Butler County 4-H Food & Fashion Board; Highland Achievers 4-H Club, Morrow County; Scissors to Sheep 4-H Club, Shelby County; Ronnie Slone, Gallia County;
Innovator Award: Nathan HeIsinger, Warren County; Lake County 4-H Peace Garden Committee; Mary Lillie, Lucas County;
Leadership Development Award: Vicki Dussel, Lorain County; Delores Spragg, Harrison County; Allison Rushley, Franklin County;
Recruitment: Teri Berry, Medina County; Karen Howard, Medina County.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!