Loudonville annual FFA awards banquet honors members


LOUDONVILLE, Ohio — The Loudonville FFA chapter invited members, guests and friends to celebrate its successful year during its annual banquet and awards ceremony April 16 at the school campus in Loudonville. The banquet theme was “Step Up, Stand Out.”

The evening was opened with a candle lighting ceremony offered by the Greenhands. Opening ceremonies that followed were offered by the 2008-09 officer team including President Megan Ashby, Vice President Cody Berger, Secretary Allison Stitzlein, Treasurer Justin Zigler, Reporter Megan Timmons, Sentinel Doug Wilson, Historian MaryAnn Frank, Assistant Historian Sierra Frank and Student Advisor Gabe Griffith.

Installation of the new officer team headed off the agenda of awards following the banquet meal.

New officers

The newly installed 2009-10 officer team included President MaryAnn Frank, Vice President Allison Stitzlein, Secretary Logan Fritz, Treasurer Holly Fisher, Reporter Cody Strawser, Sentinel Dylan Esselburn, Historian Chase Strawser and Student Advisor Kim Yohey.

Greenhand Degrees were earned by Jacob Arnholt, Tyler Brown, Jacob Farley, Logan Fritz, James Jones, Bryce Kolberg, Kourtney Martin, Cody Scott, Chase Strawser, Cody Strawser and Kelsey VanDyne.

Chapter Degrees were presented to Brandon Allison, Hayden Banbury, Cody Berger, Holly Fisher, Kenneth Flenner, Kyle Nickles, Kyle Winters and Mark White.

Proficiency Awards were presented to Jake Wilson, Megan Ashby, Cody Berger, Jared Canfield, Kyle Nickles, Megan Timmons, Dylan Esselburn and Kyle Winters.

Earning two Proficiency Awards were Mitch Rooks and Justin Ziegler.

Scholarship Awards were presented to Megan Ashby, Cody Berger, Kyle Nickles, Doug Wilson, Allison Stitzlein, Justin Zigler, Dylan Esselburn, Trent Peters and Chase Strawser.

Honorary Chapter Degrees were presented to Debbie Schaffer and Terri Blanchard, both were installed for their significant support of the chapter activities.

Earning most FFA points were Jared Canfield, Kim Yohey, Kyle Winters and Logan Fritz.

Awarded for having the best record books were Megan Ashby, Allison Stitzlein, Dylan Esselburn and Courtney Beaver.

Top fruit salesmen included Logan Fritz selling $1,822, Kim Yohey selling $1,590.50 and Jared Canfield selling $1,422.50.



Megan Ashby was presented as the Loudonville DEKALB Award recipient. She is the daughter of Jack and Crystal Ashby and has been very active in her four years with the FFA, participating on the officer team three years, numerous CDE projects and has been an outstanding representative of the chapter in many ways.

She plans to attend the Ohio State University, ATI with a major in ag business and minor in food science and nutrition. She was also presented the chapter’s Leadership Award.

The Star Greenhand for this year was presented to Dylan Esselburn.

The Star Chapter Farmer was Allison Stitzlein. Kenny Flinner was presented the Growth Award.

Kyle Winters was presented the Volunteerism Award. Justin Zigler was presented the “Kick it in Gear” Award and Megan Timmons was presented with the Loudonville FFA Pride Award.

Loudonville FFA Alumni President Jesse Ashby presented Megan Ashby as the 2009 FFA Alumni Scholarship recipient.

He also shared the activities of the alumni for the year and that they were able to raise a significant amount in their fund raising activities over the year to support the chapter.

State accomplishments

Loudonville’s state accomplishments were noted. Mitch Rooks received his state FFA Degree earlier in the year and he is slated to receive his American FFA Degree in the fall.

He is one of the top five finalists in the Star State Placement Degree, a top four finalist in Diversified Crop Production Placement Proficiency and a top four finalist in the Dairy Production Placement Proficiency.

The final placement order is announced during the State FFA Convention in May.

Kyle Nickels placed second in the state preliminaries in the General Livestock Contest and Megan Timmons was in the state semi-finals in Prepared Public Speaking.

In the District Level contests, placing first were Jacob Wilson in the Home Improvement Placement Proficiency, Rooks in the Star State Placement Degree, Crop Production Placement Proficiency, Dairy Production Placement and Timmons in Prepared Speaking.

District accomplishments

Other district accomplishments included the Food Science Team placing second with Ashby placing fourth individually, the Ag Mechanics team placing third, the Grain Merchandising team placing fourth, Cody Strawser placing sixth in Creed Speaking and Chase Strawser placing sixth in beginning Prepared Speaking.

This student led chapter is part of the nation’s largest youth organization and is advised by Mrs. Kendra Carnegie.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.