Meat Industry Hall of Fame to induct new class


KANSAS CITY, Kansas — The Meat Industry Hall of Fame announced the members of the class of 2017 during opening ceremonies of American Association of Meat Processors annual convention July 20, in Lexington, Kentucky. A record number of votes were cast by current members of the Hall of Fame and the organization’s Board of Trustees.


Members of the incoming class are: Jeffrey Ettinger, chief executive officer (retired), Hormel Foods; Dr. A. Dewey Bond (deceased), senior vice president, American Meat Institute; Donnie Smith, president and chief executive officer (retired), Tyson Foods; John Jacobson (deceased), chairman of the board of directors and chief executive officer, National Beef Packing Company; Clarence Knebel (deceased), owner, Knebel’s Processing Plant; Ralph Stayer, chairman of the board (retired), Johnsonville Sausage; and Ed Woods, owner and president, Woods Smoked Meats.

To qualify for a nomination in the Hall of Fame, candidates must have contributed significant innovation, achieved notable business success or otherwise positively impacted their organization, institution or larger industry segment. In addition, those nominees chosen for induction must have undertaken noteworthy community service or philanthropy during their careers and upon retirement.Visit for more information.

Induction ceremony

The Meat Industry Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held during the International Production and Processing Expo (IPPE) in January 2018. Tickets are available now: $250 for an individual seat and $2,000 for a reserved table of eight which will be recognized with signage and from the speaker’s podium.

Reservations can be made by contacting the Meat Industry Hall of Fame by email at For more information click here.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.