Mohawk FFA honors members and special guests at banquet


BESSEMER, Pa. — The Mohawk FFA has had success yet again with their annual FFA Parent and Member Banquet May 19. Over 140 members and guests attended. There were many pins, degrees and scholarships given out.

FFA contest results from the five county competitions were presented by the 2015-2016 president, Tim Murtha.

  • Erik Hostetler; ag mechanics; 7th
  • Albert Womer; ag mechanics; 7th
  • Hanna Rohrmann; livestock; 7th
  • Hanna Rohrmann; dairy judging; 1st
  • Tim Murtha; landscape; 4th
  • Chelsey Ball; floriculture; 3rd
  • Maddy Shiderly; dairy judging; 3rd
  • Anthony Musitano; small gas; 3rd
  • Dan Cowher; meat judging; 3rd
  • Devon Fagan; meat judging; 10th
  • Travis Singer; ag mechanics; 10th
  • Abby Chapman; livestock; 10th
  • Anna Hostetler; floriculture; 9th
  • Brandon Raney; dairy judging; 8th
  • Kelli Hostetler; floriculture; 8th
  • Logan Lefebvre; ag mechanics; 8th
  • Randy Pauline; ag mechanics; 2nd
  • Randy Pauline; small gas; 2nd

Greenhand pins

Greenhand pins are for the members that have recently joined the FFA. These members are Anthony Musitano, Samantha Vankirk, Blake Solley, Kelli Hostetler, James Schmitt, Eric Heckathorne and Nick Szewczyk.

Chapter pins

The chapter pins given are for the members that keep a record book with forty five hours in the online AET system. Three of our members received this degree, Chelsey Ball, Anna Hostetler and Kylee Barger.

Keystone Degrees

The Keystone Degrees were given to three members in January at the Pennsylvania Farm Show. The recipients, Megan Shiderly, Corbin Rohrmann and Travis Singer, received plaques from the chapter at the banquet.

Honorary members

The Mohawk FFA accepted two more honorary members this year. Dr. Kathleen Kwolek taught chemistry for 25 years.

In 2010 she was appointed school superintendent of the school district. She helped the FFA by supporting the organization allowing the group travel and facilities throughout her career. She has helped keep the FFA and Ag department at the school.

Jamie Curtola was awarded the star greenhand award at Mohawk in 1978. He has been on the Lawrence County Jr. livestock committee for 13 years and currently serves as president. He is also on the Mohawk school board. Curtola helps the FFA by being on our advisory committee and responding to our needs.

In addition to awards, there were many scholarships given out. The J.W. Laughner Scholarship was given to Anthony Musitano and Albert Womer. The FFA also gives scholarships to people who give their all to the FFA. These people include Anthony Musitano, Albert Womer, Josh Toscano, Scott Relic and Travis Singer.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.