Ohio cattlemen celebrate 50 years


DUBLIN, Ohio – Pickaway County beef producer Mel Earich received the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association’s Industry Excellence Award during the group’s 50th annual meeting Jan. 19 in Dublin, Ohio.

The award recognizes significant contributions to the cattle industry at all levels.

Earich and his family own a 70-cow Chi-Angus cross cow-calf and feeder operation. He has served on the association’s board of directors since 1994 and as vice president and president in 1998 and 1999, respectively. He also serves as National Cattlemen’s Beef Association director.

Other awards. Bobby and Katie Shugert of Guernsey County received the Young Cattleman of the Year award, marking one of the few times in award history that more than one recipient has claimed the award.

The couple’s Angus-Simmental cross operation in Lore City includes 1,500 cows and 250 replacement heifers, and they own nearly 80 percent of those animals. Shugert Farms also ranks in the top 10 seedstock producers in the United States.

Ohio Department of Agriculture veterinarian David Glauer received the association’s Industry Service Award.

Glauer has served as state veterinarian since 1993, and has also operated a private large animal practice. During his time with the state department of agriculture, Glauer has been involved with a number of key animal health initiatives, including a Johne’s disease program that has been recognized nationally and serves as a model for other states. Glauer also played an instrumental part in the formation of the Ohio Livestock Reform Act.

Dailey thoughts. Ohio Department of Agriculture Director Fred Dailey addressed banquet attendees, making specific references to issues at the forefront of the industry.

He noted the progress on large animal facility regulations that would “dramatically affect the way livestock is raised” on several Ohio farms.

“When the U.S. EPA delegates authority to the state, we’re going to see a big change in the way things are done in Ohio. Those changes will allow us to grow and prosper,” he said.

Dailey also commented on the initiative to build ethanol production facilities in Ohio.

“As cattle farmers, we may or may not produce corn, but distillers grain, a by-product of ethanol, will be a great product for beef producers,” he said. “It’s also time to get more energy from Midwest producers instead of Mideast sheiks.”

Other initiatives in the works for Ohio include the $2.65 million Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Foundation, which will include a fencing program that will aid in the revitalization of the cattle industry there; a proposed feedlot in Highland County; and continuation of interstate meat shipment talks.

Producer awards. The county recognition program is designed to recognize county associations that incorporate new or creative activities to foster teamwork and unity, build stronger relationships with the state group, promote beef, and emphasize youth and community involvement.

Counties honored on the gold level – having 90 percent membership renewal rate and increasing membership by 10 percent over the 2001 total – were Crawford, Fairfield, Highland, Jackson, Muskingum, Noble and Wood counties. Also included were the Ohio Valley Cattlemen, made up of producers from Belmont and Monroe counties.

The top recruiter in the membership recruitment contest was Tim Rice of Muskingum County; runner-up was Jim Campbell of Greene County.

Others recognized, followed by county, include Mel Earich; Dave Mustard, Highland; Gary Wilson, Muskingum; Glen Feichtner, Crawford; Steve DeBruin, Fairfield; Bill Sexten, Fayette; Fred Vollborn, Gallia; Frances Fluharty, Wayne; Ron Kohnen, Mercer; Jerry Merry, Noble; Jim Mizik, Noble; Sam Roberts, Clark; Bill Shaw, Hocking; Howard Spengler, Monroe; Rex Sullinger, Hardin; Jim Sutherly, Miami; Chuck Thomas, Wood; Kris Vincent, Stark; and Jake Wolfinger, Fairfield.

State officers for 2002 include Steve DeBruin, president; Jim Campbell, vice president; and Bill Sexten, treasurer.

Officers for the CattleWomen’s group are Linde Calhoun, Madison County, president; Linda Harr, Logan County, vice president; Patti Spengler, Monroe County; secretary; and Dona Tullis, Madison County, treasurer.

Youth awards. Emily Goubeaux of Darke County was crowned Ohio Queen of Beef by retiring 2001 queen Em Mowrer of Belmont County.

Lindsey Harris of Montgomery County was second runner-up, and Rebecca Gamble of Logan County was first runner-up.

Ohio Cattlemen’s Foundation scholarship recipients include: Stephanie Mullett, Coshocton County, Curt Balthaser scholarship;

Deanna Fuller, Guernsey County; Robert Hoffman, Henry County; and Andrea Garmyn, Defiance County, Steve Rauch scholarships;

Em Mowrer, Belmont County, and Chris Raines, Miami County, Pfizer DEED scholarship; and Jamie King, Seneca County; Andy Weaver, Shelby County; Jason Ruhl; and Natasha Weaver, Ohio CattleWomen’s scholarships.

(You can contact Andrea Myers at 1-800-837-3419, ext. 22, or by e-mail at amyers@farmanddairy.com.)


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!