Ohio State Fair enshrines eight leaders


COLUMBUS — The Ohio State Fair inducted eight new Hall of Fame members July 28 in the Rhodes Center Auditorium.

The 2011 inductees are: John and Bonnie Ayars, Champaign County; Joseph Ciacchi, Delaware County; Tim and Glenda Huffman, Franklin County; Mary Miller, Knox County; Christopher Nethers, Licking County; and Nevin Taylor, Union County.


John and Bonnie Ayars have been involved with the fair for more than 40 years. Bonnie Ayars has been an exhibitor for multiple breeds of dairy cattle as well as a supporter for judging programs and skill-a-thon competitions. John has bred and exhibited cattle and continuously supported the Ohio State Fair.


Joseph Ciacchi has actively worked for 16 years to beautify and upgrade the exterior areas of the Ohio Expo Center.
As a cement mason and plasterer, he has worked to make his skill known to the public through demonstrations and competitions.


Tim and Glenda Huffman have been supporters of the Ohio State Junior Fair Livestock program for 24 years. They have also contributed to the Ohio State Fair Sale of Champions and Youth Reserve Program for the past 15 years.


Mary Miller has continuously supported the Creative Arts and the Ohio State Fair for 38 years. For the past 37 years, she has entered items in the DiSalle Creative Arts Center and has received numerous awards for her work and support of the fair.


Christopher Nethers has been in the All Ohio State Fair Youth Choir staff since 1992. He promotes the fair through his work as a music teacher, an EMT and as a member of his local fire department.


Nevin Taylor has served as a director of FFA for 31 years. Throughout the years, he has involved young people in the fair and contributed countless hours and much support for youth development and the fair.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.