Penn State begins search for the dean of the College of Agricultural Sciences


UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. — Penn State has announced a national search for the next dean of the College of Agricultural Sciences. William Easterling, dean of the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences, will chair the search committee, and Korn/Ferry International will assist in the search.

Left for Ohio State

Former Dean Bruce McPheron assumed the role of vice president for agricultural administration and dean of the College of Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences at Ohio State Nov. 1, 2012. Barbara Christ, senior associate dean and professor in the College of Agricultural Sciences, currently is serving as interim dean.

The dean is responsible for planning, budgeting, implementing and evaluating its integrated programs of resident instruction, research, continuing education and cooperative extension. With research expenditures approaching $97 million annually, the college is one of the most research-active among its peer institutions.

Educational outreach

Each year, the college serves nearly 3,600 students across its nine academic departments. Through its cooperative extension programs, the college has a presence in all 67 Pennsylvania counties, providing broad and crucial services and educational outreach to the state’s agriculture industry.

To apply

Applications, nominations and inquiries should be sent to by March 15.
Search committee. Members of the search committee are:
• Ramaswamy Anantheswaran, professor of food science, Department of Food Science;
• Mary Barbercheck, professor of entomology, Department of Entomology;
 • Blannie Bowen, vice provost for Academic Affairs;
• Samantha Cheese-Thompson, undergraduate student, Agribusiness Management;
• William Easterling, committee chair and dean of the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences;
• Jeffrey Fowler, district 2 director, Penn State Extension;
• Dwayne Hay, extension educator, Penn State Extension;
• Samuel Hayes Jr., University trustee;
• Paul Heinemann, professor and head of the Department of Agricultural and Biological Engineering;
• Seogchan Kang, professor of plant pathology, Department of Plant Pathology and Environmental Microbiology;
 • Mary Kennett, professor and head of the Department of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences;
• Diane McLaughlin, professor of rural sociology and demography, Department of Agricultural Economics, Sociology and Education;
• David Mortensen, professor of weed and applied plant ecology, Department of Plant Science;
• Joy Pate, professor of reproductive physiology and C. Lee Rumberger and Family Chair in Agricultural Sciences, Department of Animal Science;
 • Kimberly Ripka, manager of departmental operations, Department of Food Science;
• Jay Stauffer, distinguished professor of ichthyology, Department of Ecosystem Science and Management;
• Mark Theiss, director of development, College of Agricultural Sciences; and
• Mary Wirth, director of college relations and communications, College of Agricultural Sciences.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.