Roundup of 4-H news for the week of Nov. 17, 2016


ELLSWORTH, Ohio — Western Reserve Rangers 4-H club hosted a meeting in November 2016.

The 4-H Junior Camp 2017 for Mahoning and Portage Counties will be July 9-15 at 4-H Camp Whitewood. Camp counselor Sydni Francis encouraged teen members to be a camp counselor.

Camp counselor applications are available online ( and are due back to the Extension Center by Dec. 2.

4-H pins, Canfield Fair exhibit premiums, and achievement certificates were given to the members and advisors by secretaries Tiffany Voland and William Reph.

The club will have their first meeting of the new year Jan. 12 at 7 p.m. at the Ellsworth Fire Hall. Youth and parents wanting to learn more about the 4-H Club Program in Mahoning County are encouraged to attend this meeting or call Jan and Kathleen Moser at 330-547-7422.

Enrollment deadline for Rangers 4-H Club will be at the Feb. 9 4-H meeting.

Contact for more information Amanda Butchko at 330-360-7165 or Janet Majirsky at 330-360-7255.

– – –

MANSFIELD, Ohio — The Richland County 4-H program hosted the 4-H Honor Program Nov. 6 at the Richland County Longview Center.

Recognition was given to 4-H members, adult volunteers and friends of the Richland County 4-H program.

The top 4-H member honors were given to Member of theYear recipients: Kelcie Chance, Shiloh, Kiley Harriman, Keturah Crouch and Rachel Miller, all of Mansfield.

The Outstanding Service to 4-H Award, given to a 4-H advisor on the basis of excellence in 4-H volunteer leadership, was presented to: Jessica Albert, Andy Parks and Christine Lynch, all of Shelby; and Amanda Lantz of Mansfield.

Meritorious Service to 4-H awards, given to special friends, non-member and non-advisor, of the 4-H program were presented to: Dave Compton, Mansfield Fire Department and Mary Frazier, Shiloh.

Two teen leaders were recognized with the Junior Leader Merit Award; Anna Circosta and Laurasen Combs, both of Mansfield.

An award recognizing the potential for leadership ability and citizenship; the I Dare You Award, was given to Keturah Crouch and Laurasen Combs, both of Mansfield.

4-H members receiving recognition for outstanding officer books/scrapbooks included:

  • President: Megan McVicker, Blue-Gold 4-H, Mansfield
  • Vice-President: Michayla Hoeflich, Branded Pony 4-H, Bellville
  • Treasurer: Blayde Lybarger, New Edition 4-H, Shelby
  • Secretary: Caroline Tilton, Muddy Creek Clovers 4-H, Bellville
  • Health: Alexis McWhorter and Cody Loughman, Country Champions 4-H, Mansfield
  • News Reporter: Chris Blankenship, Lexington, Lads & Lasses 4-H, Mansfield
  • Recreation Leader: Ryleigh Chase, Country Champions 4-H, Shelby
  • Historian: Chris Blankenship, Lexington Lads & Lasses 4-H, Mansfield

The highest award, Gold Banner, was presented to the following clubs for their achievement: Bibs & Boots 4-H, Shelby/Shiloh, Blue-Gold 4-H, Mansfield, Clover Clan 4-H, Shelby and Country Champions 4-H, Mansfield.

Silver banner club award was given to Richland Round-Up 4-H, Shelby.

The Outstanding Recreation – Motivation Award winners were: Luke Given, Greenwich; Warren Rehberg and Kristen Eisenhauer, Shelby; Laurasen Combs and Kiley Harriman, Mansfield; and Nathan Volz, Mt. Gilead.

The 4-H Character Award was presented to Laurasen Combs, Mansfield, and Susanna Crouch, Mansfield.

4-H members in attendance were given recognition for completion of their 4-H project year. The Richland County 4-H Committee presented membership pins to youth with ten or more years of membership, including youth completing their 14 and final year of 4-H membership:

Ten year 4-H members: Erica Bowman, Anna Circosta, Susanna Crouch, Trevor Davis, Jacob Echelbarger, Ariel Figueroa, Brianna Given, Anna Gregg, Olivia Hellinger, Taightam Hicks, Joshua Leach, Justin Leach, Jevin Litwiler, Blake Lucius, Cora McConkie, Mikka Messmore, Rachel Miller, Sean Rhodes, Hannah Skropits, Taylor Thomas, Louis Vera and Erica Westfield.

Eleven year 4-H members: Chloe Bricker, Rachel Coy, Megan Crain, Paige Doklovic, Cassie Lynch, Kortney Morris, Allison Nething and Cassidy Thomas. Twelve year 4-H members: Macie Bricker, Luke Given, Rebecca Gregg, Macy Lynch, Marissa Lynch, Alexa Robinson, Taylor Stamper and Emma Yockey. Thirteen year 4-H members: Morgan Fackler and Rachel Maglott 14 year 4-H members: Kirsten Braen, Kristen Eisenhauer and Mallary Lynch.

Adult volunteers were recognized for their years of service. Special awards were given to advisors with 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 30 or more years of service: Five years of volunteer service: Shelly Arnold, David Dick, Elaine Fagan, Penny Harriger, April Gregory, Heather Reynolds, Monica Robinson, Kelly Snyder and Angie Swackhammer

Ten years of volunteer service: Tawny Cox, Eileen Eisenhauer, Jayme Kilgore and Chris Miller.

Fifteen years of volunteer service: Jodi Blust, Matt Janisch and Karen Maglott.

Twenty years of volunteer service: Karen Harvey, Kate Miller and Louann Steiner.

More than thirty years of service: Diana Kelley (33 years), Mary Akers (35 years) and Glen McLaughlin (39 years).


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.