AFBF recognizes young farmers and ranchers


HONOLULU — Winners of the Young Farmers & Ranchers Achievement Award, discussion meet and excellence in agriculture competitions were announced recently at the American Farm Bureau Federation’s 93rd annual meeting.

Young farmers and ranchers from around the country competed for the awards by demonstrating knowledge of and achievement in agriculture, as well as commitment to promoting the agriculture industry.


Ben and Jennifer Moore of Tennessee won the Achievement Award. Runners-up in the Achievement Award contest are Chad and Julie Carlton of Georgia, Travis and Renae Gebhart of South Dakota and Kirk and Stephanie Liefer of Illinois.

Heather Barnes of North Carolina won the discussion meet. The three runners-up in the discussion meet are Jacob Andersen of Idaho, Katie Pratt of Illinois and Chelsea Good of Kansas.

Andy and Ellie Holt of Tennessee won the Excellence in Agriculture Award. The three runners-up in the excellence in agriculture competition are Jason and Paige Pratt of Virginia, Jillian Beaty of Wisconsin and Sharla Mortimer of Arizona.


The Excellence in Agriculture Award recognizes young farmers and ranchers who do not derive the majority of their income from an agricultural operation, but who actively contribute and grow through their involvement in agriculture, their leadership ability and participation in Farm Bureau and other organizations.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.