Andrews, Hess newest inductees into Ohio Auctioneers Hall of Fame


DUBLIN, Ohio — Approximately 300 auctioneers and guests turned out for the Ohio Auctioneers Association’s annual convention, Jan. 19-21 at the Embassy Suites Hotel in Dublin, Ohio.

The highlight of the evening was the annual induction of the newest members to the Hall of Fame — Stephen Andrews of Wooster, Ohio, and Dannie Hess of Sardinia, Ohio.


Andrews’ career spans nearly 40 years. He is a fourth-generation auctioneer, and attended Reppert School of Auctioneering. Before that, he earned a degree in animal science.

Andrews is a member and past president of the Ohio Auctioneers Association and is a member of the National Auctioneers Association.

Story Continues Below Photos

He specializes in farm machinery, real estate, antiques, purebred horses, cattle and Haflingers. He is the top draft horse auctioneer in the country and holds licenses in Kentucky, Indiana, Pennsylvania, Michigan, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Illinois and Ohio.

Andrews is also known for his generosity and has sponsored countless apprentice auctioneers. He and his wife, Peggy, have two sons, Jason and Seth.


Dannie Hess began his career from scratch 54 years ago in Buford, Ohio. He attended the Reppert School of Auctioneering and started his business by himself, conducting auctions mostly in southwestern Ohio and northern Kentucky.

For 20 years, he worked for the Producers Stockyard in Hillsboro, Ohio, as well as stockyards in Olive Hill and Maysville, Ky.

Know for his integrity and honesty, he retired in 2005.

He and his wife, Lela Mae, will celebrate their 62 anniversary this year, and their son, Glenn, and his family now run the business.

Other events at the convention included Indiana continuing education from Dennis Kruse of Auburn, Ind., and real estate educational sessions from Scott Musser, National Association of Auctioneers vice president and John Niebel of Tuxedo Training; and the annual election of the Ohio Auctioneers Association officers and directors.

New officers

The leadership for the coming year will include: Barry Baker, president, Xenia, Ohio; Chris Davis, president elect, Alexandria; Maggie Beckmeyer, vice president, Cincinnati; Susan Johnson, treasurer, Guilford, Ind.; Michael Hoffman, at large director, Pickerington; Pat Sheridan, Athens, and Larry Woods, Hilliard, southeast directors; Theresa Blocher, Paris, and Bill Stepp, Ashland, northeast directors; Mark Euton, southwest director, Cincinnati; and Ken Bonnigson, Clyde, and Jade Montrie, Toledo, northwest directors.

The candidates were inducted into their positions at the annual business meeting Jan. 20 and then honored at a luncheon later that day by the association’s outgoing president, Doug Walton, Upper Sandusky.

Under direction of the new president, Barry Baker, the association will follow the theme, “A Quest for Excellence.”

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.