Boggs, Springers are recognized


JEFFERSON, Ohio – The 51st annual Ashtabula County Dairy Banquet recognized local dairy farmers for their outstanding milk production achievements.

The 2000 Top One-Third Herds announced at the banquet were Alfa-Creek Farms, Andover; The Shook Farm, Morgan; Alfa-Creek Brown Swiss, Andover; Gildersleeve Dairy, Austinburg; Loren Hopkins, Williamsfield; and Coltman Farms, Wayne.

A special congratulation is extended to Robin, Debbie, Nikki and Randy Boggs from AlfaCreek Brown Swiss Farm of Andover for being one of the top five Brown Swiss herds in the state. Their Brown Swiss herd is producing over 24,178 pounds of energy corrected milk per cow per year.

In addition, seven farms were recognized for having top cows in Ashtabula County by breed and age. Comp Dairy Farm led the way by having 27 award winners followed by Alfa-Creek Brown Swiss Farm with 14 awards. Additional farms earning high cow awards were Ringbyre Jersey Farm, Paul Weber, Alfa-Creek Farms, Grand River Jersey Farm, Meadow Brook Farm, and Scibona Farm.

Most improved.

Two of the most coveted awards given at the banquet are the most improved dairy herd award and the high energy corrected milk award. This year’s most improved herd was Rolling Maples Farm owned by Dick and Martha Benson of Monroe and the high ECM award went to AlfaCreek Farms owned by Robin and Debbie Boggs of Andover.

Last year, in honor of Dick Johnson from Monroe Township, the Ashtabula County Dairy Service Unit board of directors established a new award titled “The Ashtabula County Farm Family of the Year.” This award is presented annually to a farm family that simply does things right. Milk production, genetics, herd health and community service are all factors that are considered. This year’s award winner is Springer Dairy Farms from Lenox, Ohio. Harold, Hilda, Larry, Dick, Peggy, Linda and Matt Springer have been cornerstones of the dairy industry for years.


An additional highlight of the banquet was the crowning of the 2001 Ashtabula County Dairy Princess. The four contestants were Cindy Butler, Elizabeth Maylish, Jennifer Vild, and Bridgett Weaver. Maylish, the daughter of William and Kathy Maylish of Lenox, was crowned our new princess.

A new award was presented in the memory of Stuart Struna from Williamsfield. Finalists for the Stuart Struna Memorial Extra Effort Award were Jackie Baird of Cloverleaf Kids, Ben Beckwith of Cherry Lyme Tail Enders, Randy Boggs of Kids & Cows, Katie Struna of Kids & Cows, and Corey Sundberg of Cherry-Lyme Tail Enders. Struna was selected as the overall winner for this award. She received a $50 savings bond presented by the Ashtabula County 4-H Dairy Committee.

Paul Sundberg, Robert Wilson and Ed Struna were elected to serve two-year terms on the Dairy Service Unit board of directors.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!