Cleavers win Jefferson SWCD honor


WINTERSVILLE, Ohio – Charlie and Wanda Cleaver received the Jefferson Soil and Water Conservation District’s Conservation Farmer of the Year award Oct. 18 at the district’s annual meeting and banquet.
The Cleavers own and operate Roselane Farm in Mount Pleasant, Ohio. Their beef cattle operation incorporates a managed grazing system to make best use of the land.
Conservation emphasis. In cooperation with the USDA’s Natural Resources Conservation Service and the conservation district, the Cleavers have installed spring developments, a waste storage structure, and developed a livestock heavy use pad.
In addition, the couple has hosted and attended pasture walks and the countywide farm-city tour to educate others about the importance of conservation.
Teacher lauded. Indian Creek Local educator Sue Edgerly received the Conservation Teacher of the Year award for her assistance in developing Fernwood Outdoor Days.
The five-day program draws 800 students each year to Fernwood State Forest to study ecology, forestry, and conservation.
Partners thanked. The district also presented three distinguished service awards.
The first award went to the Jefferson County Farm Bureau. The county Farm Bureau has assisted the district with its annual farm learning experience program since its inception.
The day-long event draws 400 students each year to a county farm, where they study supply and demand, and economics.
Louise Holliday and Diane Julio, representing the Division of Recycling and Litter Prevention, were recognized for their part in coordinating Fernwood Outdoor Days.
Finally, Jim Branagan, Jefferson County engineer, and Dave Snelting, former Steubenville City Engineer, were recognized for assisting the Jefferson SWCD with developing a stormwater consortium.
The countywide group works to address the Environmental Pollution Agency’s stormwater mandate.
Scholarship. The district auxiliary presented a $500 scholarship to Betsy Cain of Amsterdam.
Cain, a student at Jefferson Community College, is an active member of the Yellow Creek Restoration Committee, and plans to transfer to West Liberty State College to complete a bachelor’s degree.
The district also honored several photography contest winners. Charlie Conn, Mathia Porco, Mark Clark, and Joe Henthorn each won in several natural resource categories for photos submitted to the contest.
Leader election. Two supervisors were elected at the event. Running for the two district board seats were Herman Howell of Hammondsville, Brent Nemeth of Rayland, Eldridge “Bud” Novak and Dr. Brian Wilson of Bloomingdale. Howell and Novak were successful in their election bids.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.