Farm Bureau salutes next generation


COLUMBUS – Three couples and two individual farmers are finalists in the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation’s Outstanding Young Farm Couple and Young Farmer contests.

Competing for the top honor at next week’s annual meeting are: Darren and Angie Newcomer, Medina County; Kent and Joy Bauman, Adams County; Clark and Angela Emmons, Fulton County; Ed Griffith, Hardin County; and Neall Weber, Franklin County.

Young farm couples. Darren and Angie Newcomer raise alfalfa, corn, soybeans, wheat and operate a dairy near Seville, Ohio. They also produce specialty crops.

Darren Newcomer is currently the Medina County Farm Bureau president; both he and Angie have chaired several county committees. They also have been active with the state Farm Bureau Young Farmer committee.

Kent and Joy Bauman farm in Adams County with Kent’s father, raising tobacco, corn, soybeans and greenhouse tobacco plants. They also raise registered Angus seedstock.

Both Kent and Joy have chaired several Adams County Farm Bureau committees, and Kent is a past president of the county organization. Joy served as the county’s organization director.

Clark and Angela Emmons of Fayette farm with Clark’s father and operate a dairy. Angela works off the farm and owns a performance horse trading business.

They both have been active in the Fulton County Farm Bureau. Clark is a past president and has chaired several committees; Angela is a past information coordinator. Both have participated in the state discussion meet.

Young farmers. Neall Weber of Hilliard is in a family partnership raising corn, soybeans, wheat and hay.

Active in the Franklin County Farm Bureau, Weber is currently county president and has been chairman of several committees.

Ted Griffith of Ada operates a seed business, raising seed corn, seed soybeans and seed wheat. He and his father also feed beef cattle.

Griffith has been active in the Hardin County Farm Bureau, having served as president and membership chairman.

He was also a supervisor for the Hardin Soil and Water Conservation District and served on the county’s economic development council.

Earn trip to Hawaii. The Outstanding Young Farm Couple also will compete against the Outstanding Young Farmer to represent Ohio in national competition.

The state winner will receive an expense-paid trip to the American Farm Bureau annual meeting in Honolulu in January, $500 from Dodge Trucks, a chime clock and a one year subscription to DTN FarmDayta Marketing Service courtesy of Farm Credit Services of Mid America.

The state winner will be named Dec. 4 during the state Farm Bureau annual convention in Columbus.

Other contest finalists. Jenifer Weaver of North Jackson, Barbara Ann Jackson of Marengo, and Christopher and Sarah Helsinger of Germantown are state finalists in the Excellence in Agriculture contest.

The award recognizes successful young people who are involved in farming but whose primary occupation is not farming or owning an agricultural business.

Jenifer Weaver is grain department manager for Deerfield Farms Service and is responsible for origination and merchandising of grain for five country elevators.

She has served on numerous Mahoning County Farm Bureau committees, has been active with Farm Bureau youth, and has attended various state Farm Bureau events.

Barbara Ann Jackson is employed in the health and medical field and operates a multi-family grain and cattle farm. She is active in the Morrow County Farm Bureau and is supportive of local 4-H and FFA activities.

Christopher and Sarah Helsinger of Germantown are also state finalists. Chris works as a salesman for a local grain elevator, and Sarah is a high school chemistry and physics teacher.

They also farm with Chris’ family, raising crops and cattle.

Chris is currently president of the Montgomery County Farm Bureau and has served on numerous county committees. He and Sarah are both active with FFA alumni, serve as 4-H volunteers and are active with their church.

The winner will receive an expense-paid trip to the American Farm Bureau annual meeting in Honolulu in January to represent Ohio in the national competition.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!