Ohio Farmers Union elects officers


COLUMBUS – Joseph Logan of Trumbull County has been named president of the Ohio Farmers Union.

Logan, a lifetime member of the organization since 1988, has served as Trumbull County Farmers Union president and has provided testimony on behalf of the union to the Ohio Senate as early as 1992 and as recently as 2001.

Logan lives in Kinsman, Ohio, as the fifth generation to reside on the family farm.

Reelected as vice president is Roger Crossgrove of Fulton County. Crossgrove has been a member of OFU since the early 1970s, and has given testimony on behalf of the Farmers Union.

Crossgrove farms 175 acres and has dairy cattle.

Robert Clunk, was named as president emeritus for the year 2002. Clunk will sit in an advisory position to the full board and to the executive committee.

Clunk resides in Marion County, and farms 150 acres including purebred Hampshire sheep, beans wheat and hay. He is also a delegate to attend the National Farmers Union Convention March 1-4.

Convention delegates. This year, the Ohio Farmers Union selects three delegates to attend the National Farmers Union Convention.

This year’s convention delegates were selected at the state convention held at the Radisson Airport Hotel and Conference Center in Columbus, Ohio, Jan. 24-26.

Delegates chosen to attend the national convention are Robert Clunk, Marion County; Tony Giesige, Henry County; and Tom Yuhasz, representing Ashtabula, Lake, and Geauga Counties.

Alternates chosen are George Slater, Southeastern; Dave Hunsicker, Marion County; and Bruce Yancey, Fulton County.

The 2002 National Farmers Union Convention will be held March 1-4 in Irving, Texas.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!