Ohio Soybean Association announces 2013 yield winners


WORTHINGTON, Ohio — The Ohio Soybean Association has announced the winners of the 2013 Ohio Soybean Yield and Quality Contest. This is the fourth year for the statewide contest, which drew 98 applicants.

The state yield champion was Hickory Dell Farm in Cedarville. Hickory Dell Farm recorded a yield of 80.98 bushels per acre with the Croplan R2C 3290 variety. The farm also had the top no-till yield.

“There were some very impressive yield numbers and great quality results this year,” said Jerry Bambauer, OSA president and Auglaize County soybean farmer. “This contest serves as a testament to the consistent and high quality supply of soybeans Ohio soybean farmers grow.”

There were four yield categories available and the quality portion of the contest was based on highest percentages of oil and protein.

Other winners

Hickory Dell Farm also had the second place no-till yield, producing 80.35 bu. per acre using Asgrow 3533.

The top conventional-tillage yield was produced by Phil Herring of Harpster. He produced 79.17 bu. per acre using Asgrow 3030. The second highest conventional-tillage yield was produced by Don Jackson, of Camden, who recorded 75.25 bu. per acre using Seed Consultants 9363.

The top non-GMO yield was produced by Larry Wendt of Napoleon, with a yield of 60.2 bu. per acre, using eMerge 389. In the Quality Results contest, Don Wilson of Upper Sandusky placed first, with 37.1 percent (oil and protein).



Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.