Youth not left out of Ohio Beef Expo


COLUMBUS — The Ohio Cattlemen’s Association Junior Show was held March 16 during the 2008 Ohio Beef Expo at the Ohio Exposition Center, Columbus, Ohio.

The annual show spotlighted 11 breeds and a total of 594 head of steers and heifers.

Blake Bloomberg, College Station, Texas, evaluated the breeding heifers while Kyle Rozeboom, St. Paul, Minn., assessed the market animals.

The champions of the event were as follows:

Breeding heifers

  • Grand champion: MaineTainer champion Megan Hunt, Darke County;
  • Reserve champion: Crossbred champion Ashlie Winegardner, Allen County;
  • Champion Angus: Will Harsh, Delaware County;
  • Champion Chianina: Ryan McIntosh, Brown County;
  • Champion Hereford: Cade Stertzbach, Stark County;
  • Champion Limousin: Tyler Pidgeon, Columbiana County;
  • Champion high-percentage Maine: Cameron Alexander, Clinton County;
  • Champion MaineTainer: Megan Hunt, Darke County;
  • Champion Shorthorn: Hannah Winegardner, Allen County;
  • Champion Appendix Shorthorn: Nicole Johnston, Fulton County;
  • Champion Simmental: Andrew Henthorn, Washington County;
  • Champion AOB: Brandon May, Hancock County;
  • Champion crossbred: Ashlie Winegardner, Allen County.

Market animals

  • Grand champion: champion Cross: Kayla Campbell, Greene County;
  • Reserve champion and reserve Cross: Brittany Huffman, Perry County;
  • Champion Angus: Cade Stertzbach, Stark County;
  • Champion Chianina: Gretchin Straits, Holmes County;
  • Champion Hereford: Sarah Adams, Stark County;
  • Champion Maine Anjou: Danielle Heintz, Auglaize County;
  • Champion Shorthorn: Brandon Klehm, Stark County;
  • Champion Appendix Shorthorn: Kyleigh DeFrank, Jefferson County;
  • Champion Simmental: Kaitlyn Thompson, Miami County;
  • Champion AOB: Blaine Buffenbarger, Madison County;
  • Champion Division I crossbred: Clayton Boyert, Medina County;
  • Champion Division II crossbred: Kaitlyn Thompson, Miami County;
  • Champion Division III crossbred: Kayla Campbell, Greene County;
  • Champion Division IV crossbred: Sara Klehm, Stark County;
  • Champion Division V crossbred: Madison Clark, Miami County;
  • Champion crossbred Division III champion: Kayla Campbell, Greene County;
  • Champion market heifer: LV Kline, Stark County;
  • Reserve market heifer: Ashley Buhrow, Ottawa County.


Over 300 juniors competed in four age divisions of showmanship March 15. The competition took place in Cooper Arena and was judged by Greg and Pearl Walthall of Windsor, Mo.

Winners in each age division were as follows:


  • Colton Northrup, Ottawa County, first;
  • Hope Tira, Highland County, second;


  • Derek Miller, Williams County, first;
  • Blake Trueblood, Highland County second.


  • Cameron Alexander, Clinton County, first;
  • Victoria Trbovich, Carroll County, second;


  • Alex McCullough, Hardin County, first;
  • Kyleigh DeFrank, Jefferson County, second.

Fitting contest

In the youth fitting contest March 14, 40 young cattle leaders went straight to business. The 10 teams, each consisting of four members, had 25 minutes to fit their animal.

The teams were evaluated by Brad Hook of Iowa, Doug Majors of Lancaster, Ohio, and Lucas Regula of Wapakoneta, Ohio. These three judges assessed each team on their overall fitting ability, teamwork skills and the final appearance of the animal.

The team of Lindsey and Lauren Grimes of Hillsboro and Austin and Blake Trueblood of Sardinia was named champion. Each member of the winning team received a new fan and a Purina and eZall prize pack.

The participants of the second place team won a set of clippers and a Purina and eZall prize pack. It consisted of Opie Campbell of Cedarville, Madison and Tyler Clark of Covington and Cory Wilt of Springfield.

Janel and Jordan Gilbert of Greenville, Aaron Hoerst of Harrison and Mason Perez of New Weston each took home the third-place prize of $100 gift certificates for show supplies and a Purina and eZall prize pack.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.