Nineteen Ohioans start AgriPower leadership program

OFBF leadership development program, AgriPOWER, started a new class.
OFBF leadership development program, AgriPOWER, started a new class. Participants include Chris Kick, Farm and Dairy reporter.

COLUMBUS —  Nineteen farmers and agribusiness professionals, including Farm and Dairy reporter Chris Kick, have been selected for the 2015-2016 AgriPOWER class.

Participants are Jeff Adams of Urbana, Elaine Beekman of Wellington, Libby Bender of Prospect, Sara Campbell of Ripley, Shelly Detwiler of Marysville, Jessica Elson of Ashland, Josh Henderson of New Concord, Kayla Jones of Newark, Chris Kick of Wooster, Stephanie Leis of Columbus, Jenny Meyer of Bloomingburg, Steven Ruggles of Findlay, Matt Schlegel of Shreve, Victoria Shaw of Medina, Angela Shoemaker of Louisville, Lara Staples of Hamersville, Mandy Way of Chillicothe, Heidi White of Lebanon and Jami Willard of Columbus.

About the program

AgriPOWER is the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation’s agricultural leadership development program. The yearlong program consists of seven, two- to three-day training sessions that focus on public policy issues facing agriculture and the food industry. Training covers local, state and federal public policy topics, spokesperson and media training, etiquette training, social networking, and communications.

One of the institute programs will be held in Washington D.C. to help class members gain a valuable understanding of national and global issues, and another program will be held out of state to learn about differences and similarities in agriculture state to state.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.