VINCENT, Ohio — Twenty students from the Warren FFA chapter visited St. Mark’s preschool, in Belpre, Ohio, with animals for the children to learn about. Ducks, chickens, pigs, rabbits, a calf, and goats were supplied by the FFA alumni and FFA members.

• • •

WOOSTER, Ohio — The Triway FFA chapter held its 86th annual banquet, April 16, at Triway High School.

Key awards winners:

Outstanding Supervised Agricultural Experience: Brevin Beckler, Mackenzie Donley, Jordan Gates, John Gilson, Brooke Hayhurst, Jason Herman, Amanda Martin, Corey Myers, Abby Schellin, Collin Sigler, Denice Wolf and Sara Wolf; honorary FFA degrees: Sean and Karen Donley and Jim Bintliff; top fruit salesman: John Gilson; Star Greenhand degrees: Jackie Roberts and Denice Wolf; Star Chapter degrees: Laurel Sidle and Sara Wolf; Star Farmers: Mack Donley and Brooke Hayhurst; Star Dekalb Outstanding Seniors: Jordan Gates, John Gilson, and Corey Myers; State Degree recipients: Brevin Beckler, Mack Donley, Zachary Donley, Brooke Hayhurst, Jason Herman, Paige Schlund, Jacob Sidle and Collin Sigler; and American Degree recipients: Matthew Herman and Dylan Noble.
The 2016-2017 officer team is Mackenzie Donley, president; Collin Sigler, vice president; Laurel Sidle, secretary; Jackie Roberts, reporter; Abby Schellin, treasurer; Denice Wolf as Sentinel; and Sara Wolf, student adviser.

• • •

MINERVA, Ohio — The Minerva FFA chapter held its annual banquet April 21 at Minerva High School.

Key awards were Star Greenhand Degree: Jonathan Lucas; Star Chapter Degree: Britney Wayts; Outstanding Junior: Bryce Fankhauser; and Dekalb Award: Kaitelyn Wayts.

The chapter also recognized students that sold fruit and participated in CDEs throughout the year. The 2016-2017 officer team is Bryce Fankhauser, president; Beth Eglie, vice president; Abbie Greer, secretary; Kaylee Kovach, treasurer; Alyssa Law, reporter; Parker Snode, sentinel; Noe Gonzales, student adviser; and Enrique Gonzales, historian.

• • •

ASHLAND, Ohio — On April 14, the Crestview FFA held its 53rd annual awards banquet. Chapter president, Jenna Purvis, welcomed guests and members. The annual student labor auction raised more than $3,000, and more than $1,500 through the silent auction. All proceeds will go toward the funding of the chapter’s various activities.

Freshmen were awarded their Greenhand Degrees, including: Casper Alvineda, Chloe Bump, Dakota Hamilton, Molly Ardis, Anna Chaney, Clayton Hout, Hunter Barber, Tyler Dinsmore, Elizabeth Laug, Noah Blum, Cody Loughman, Justin Bond, Abagail Brown, Ervin Fussner, Meghan McFarland, Jacqueline Rydzinski, Clorissa Moore, LaCrisha Sauder, Alexis Wagner, LeAnn Pickworth, Cailyn Rogers, Emily Stevens, Iszabella Rose, and Savanah Stuart.

Some 21 sophomores were awarded with their Chapter Degrees. Recipients were Emma Ardis, Koalton Baker, William Barber, Logan Benepe, Erin Bernhard, Kelsey Boyer, Colton Campbell, Lane Fry, Warren Fussner, Kaitlyn Hunt, Dylan LaFever, Kathy Lehman, Chris Loughman, Mason Maust, Jay Oswalt, Austin Owens, Brett Rine, Cade Rogers, Michael Thompson, Brynn Witmer, and Makenzie Workman. Dawson LaFever was named a 2016 state degree candidate and received his state degree at the state convention May 6.

Crestview’s 2016 American Degree candidates are Samantha Oswalt and Abby Motter. This year’s Star Greenhand awards went to Ervin Fussner and Savanah Stuart. Star Chapter awards went to Emma Ardis, Brynn Witmer, and Kathy Lehman. The Outstanding Committee Chair award was presented to Walker Ramsay. Savanah Stuart was awarded for her top sales record, selling more than $2,700 combined between the chapter’s chicken barbecue and fruit sale.

Jenna Purvis received the Ivan “Duke” White scholarship as well as the John Sherrick scholarship; Kelcie Chance received both the Clarence Fulk and the Genieve Spoerr scholarships; Maddy Maust received the Le-Mac Farms scholarship; Skyler Campo received the Richard “Dick” Mawhorr scholarship; Erin Bernhard received the Irvan Esbenshade scholarship to help with the cost of her 2016 Washington Leadership Conference trip; and finally, Brynn Witmer received the Emery and Dorothy Grauer scholarship to also help with the cost of her WLC trip.

The new officers are: Kathy Lehman, president; Emma Ardis and Brynn Witmer, vice president; Molly Ardis, secretary; Erin Bernard, treasurer; Kadie Myers, reporter; Sarah Stuart, sentinal; and Savanah Stuart, student adviser.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.