A roundup of FFA news for the week of April 30, 2015:


WEST SALEM, Ohio — On April 14, members of the Northwestern FFA competed in the Farm Business Management CDE.

Adam Miley, Phil Eberly, Zach Berry, Shannon Garrison, Storm Nelson, Ashley Besancon, Katie Stull, and Marie Clements competed, placing seventh in the state.

On April 22, Adam Miley, Phil Eberly, Rachelle Howman, Ashley Besancon, Kaci Way, Victoria Devore, Emily Flinn, Sarah Maximovich, Bradley Aulger, Cody Tegtmeier, Shania Reed, and Kierstyn Wood competed in the grain merchandising CDE. The team placed eighth in the state.

* * *

WATERFORD, Ohio —On April 16, the Waterford FFA chapter hosted its 60th annual parent-member banquet.

Entertainment for the night was a slide show presentation to celebrate the chapter’s accomplishments.

The chapter awarded 14 Greenhand degrees, and also awarded nine Chapter degrees. Those receiving the Chapter Degree included Cody Brooker, Clayton Campbell, Richard Canterbury, Dwight Crane, Trinity Jaeger, Andrew McCutcheon, Jared Miller, Danielle Quimby and Devan Ruble.

Clayton Campbell, Dwight Crane and Trinity Jaeger received the Outstanding Second Year Member Award. The Outstanding Third Year Award was presented to Derek Huck, Katie Wagner and Janice Whalin and the Star Chapter Farmer Award was presented to Megan Whalin.

Allen Angle, WHS Alumni President, presented the Ed Barnett Memorial Award to Eric Flowers and Colten McCutcheon and the WHS FFA Alumni WLC scholarship to Gavinn Tornes.

Frances Tornes, Waterford Grange Master, presented the Waterford Grange #231 Agricultural Education Grant to Megan Whalin.

Shawn Work presented the Clyde Knoch Memorial Scholarship to Megan Whalin.

Seniors members were also recognized: Natasha Quimby, Shannon Wolfe, Eric Flowers, Colten McCutcheon and Megan Whalin.

Honorary members were also installed: Dean and Misty Mason, Jeff Brooker and Katherine Terrell.
The chapter also presented EZ Grout Manufacturing its “Blue & Gold” award. The honor recognizes an outstanding business or organization that supports the chapter and the FFA mission.

MINERVA, Ohio — The Minerva FFA held a banquet at the Minerva High School April 15. Taylor Norton presented the FFA creed.

There were 23 members who received their Greenhand Degree: Jayson Bagshaw, Enrique Gonzales, Abbie Greer, Lurena Kimble, Alyssa Law, Samantha Masselli, Jacob Morgan, Taylor Norton, Madyson Reed, Scott Wilson, Mckayla Yacklin, Joshua Brady, Kiarra Brim, Adam Dietrich, Kody Gobley, Renee Hartong, Daniel Hoagland, Kaylee Kovach, Andrew Mayle, Leah Myers, Sean Swinehart, Britney Wayts, Rebecca Wayts, Corey Wengerd, and Jarret Yacobucci.

Twelve members received their chapter degree: Clayton Brightbill, Bailey Campbell, Beth Eglie, Bryce Fankhauser, Noe Gonzales, Harrison Kiko, Chelsee Leach, Matt Mobberley, Josh Newman. Devynn Plavka, Parker Snode, Ben Zbasnik.

The Star Greenhand award went to to Britney Wayts and the Star Chapter award went to Bryce Fankhauser. The outstanding junior was Elizabeth Berstler. The Dekalb award was presented to Madi Snode.

The chapter recognized CDE achievements for forestry, dairy judging, wildlife management, parliamentary procedure, creed speaking, extemporaneous speaking, job interview, and general livestock. There also was an auction — for four pairs of students and the adviser — for 8 hours of community service.

The Minerva FFA Alumni Affiliate presented two $500 scholarships to Elizabeth Berstler and Bill Brown. They also donated the pork and chicken for the banquet.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.