A roundup of FFA news for the week of April 9, 2015:


WEST SALEM, Ohio — On March 27, members of the Northwestern FFA chapter competed in the state judging contests at the Ohio State Fairgrounds.

Members participated in dairy foods, wildlife management, equine management, poultry and general livestock.

Emily Finley, Emily Flinn, Marshall Geiger, Hannah Hockenberry, Sarah Maximovich, Reiley Murphy and Shania Reed competed in the equine management contest.

They placed fourth out of more than 120 teams. Maximovich placed fourth individually. The team will advance to finals, to be held April 29. The general livestock judging team consisted of Jessie Bair, Taylor Dawson, Victoria Devore, MaKenzie Harmon, Kyle Piscione, Mykenzie Snyder, Katie Stull, Kaci Way and Kierstyn Wood.

The team placed sixth overall out of nearly 150 teams competing.

Individually, Way placed seventh and Devore placed 11th. The team will also advance to finals on April 29. Zach Berry, Ashley Besancon, Phil Eberly, Shannonn Garrison, Adam Miley, Rae Rempher and Cody Tegtmeier judged in the dairy foods contest.

They placed second overall with Eberly taking fifth; Tegtmeier, 7th; Berry, 12th; Miley, 13th; Garrison, 14th; and Besancon, 17th. The team will also compete at the Big E in Massachusetts in September.

Rachelle Howman competed in the poultry judging Career Development Event. She placed 22nd individually. TJ Cromer, Hunter Kanzeg, Robert Stinemetz and Austen Wood participated in the wildlife management CDE. They placed 11th overall.

Individually, Stinemetz placed 15th.


* * *


NEW WASHINGTON, Ohio — The Buckeye Central FFA held their annual banquet March 26 with approximately 280 people in attendance.

Junior high class awards were presented. All first-year junior high FFA members received their Discovery FFA degrees.

Greenhand Awards were given to the first-year members. The Star Greenhand Award was given to freshman Zoe Rutledge.

The Chapter Degree awards were given to the second-year FFA members. The Star Agriscience Award was given to Megan McCoy.

The junior and senior class awards were also presented. The Star Agriplacement Award was given to Peter Keller for his Supervised Agriculture Experience (SAE) involving multiple job placement projects.

The Star Farmer Award was given to Ray Stahl and Paul Heydinger. Stahl’s SAE projects included a beef production project along with a job placement project at Hord Livestock.

Heydinger’s SAE projects included a breeding and market goat production project, as well as crop production and job placement projects.

Accomplishment Award was given to Seth Ollis and Austin Wurm for their accomplishments in career development events.

The Ag Credit 110 Percent Award was awarded to Ray Stahl. The Top FFA fruit sales went to Jared Clark for selling the most fruit in 2014. The 2014 Farm Business Management team was recognized for their accomplishments at the Big E. The team consisted of Sam Robertson, Jessica Cramer, Amy Rietschlin, Ray Stahl and Paul Heydinger, and won the Eastern Regional Farm Business Management Contest, topping 17 other states.

The 2013 urban soil judging team won first in the 2013 state soil judging contest. The team consisted of Ray Stahl, Sam Robertson, Derek Kalb and Jaret Shook were all given memorial picture collages of their state championship run and national soil judging trip.

The 2014 urban soil judging team was recognizing their accomplishments. They won third in the 2014 state soil judging contest. The team consisted of Austin Wurm, Seth Ollis, Paul Heydinger and Peter Keller, and will be traveling to Oklahoma in May for the national soil judging contest.

Sam Robertson was recognized for being a star state degree finalist and a top-four diversified crop production proficiency award finalist.

Robertson’s Star State Degree Award will be announced at the State FFA Convention April 30. His SAE projects of Job Placements at Cranberry Hills, Kaple Farms, Stahl Farms, and Schroeder Farms was recognized as one of the top in the state.

Honorary Chapter Degree awards were given to Doug Phenicie and Brent Shook.

The 2015 state and American degree winners were then recognized and will receive their degrees at upcoming conventions. The state degree winners are Austin Wurm, Peter Keller, Megan McGinnis, Jaret Shook, Miranda Wurm, Ashlee Stander, Ashley Stockmaster, Amanda Stockmaster, Justin Showman and Aaron Niedermier.

The American degree winners are Jessica Cramer, Adam McGinnis, Amy Rietschlin, Sam Robertson, Matt Sheibley and Morgan Wurm.

The Gary E. Green Memorial FFA Scholarship was awarded to Austin Wurm, Ray Stahl, and Adam McGinnis. The new officer team consists of: president, Miranda Wurm; vice president, Megan McGinnis; secretary, Sidney Long; treasurer, Tori Miller; reporter, Megan McCoy; sentinel, Ashlee Stander; student adviser, Derek Kalb; and historian, Ashley Stockmaster.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.