A roundup of FFA news for the week of March 26, 2009


WEST SALEM, Ohio — Members of the Northwestern FFA traveled to The Ohio State University for the State Agriculture Sales and Job Interview Career Development Event March 7.

The Job Interview Team was made up of Kyle Schirm, Jessica Wellert and Olivia Stover.

Individually, Schirm and Wellert both received ninth place and Stover received a first place in her age division.

Stover will compete in the Job Interview Finals at the State FFA Convention to determine who will represent Ohio in the National Competition at the National FFA Convention this fall.

The Agriculture Sales Team consisted of Kelsey Bowers, Jerrin Hill, Zach Hottel and Alison McGinnis.

The team placed first overall. Members will now compete at the National FFA Convention in the fall.

The chapter celebrated FFA Week in February. The majority of students participated.

Without teamwork there would be no success in the world and, at a smaller more personal standpoint, in our chapter. The officers wanted to hit on this thought as much as possible and merged it into an FFA assembly.

It was a competition against each class in the high school. The seniors won the FFA challenge.

The following students and teachers participated in the assembly: seniors Garret Price, Jessica Chio, Corey Layton, Kristen Warner, Jared Carpenter, Kelsey Reed, Nate Wellert, Kirsten Smith, Marcus Fleming, Cody Geist, Damian Greene, Joe Geitgey, Jordan Boreman, Abbie Lavy, Danielle Maynard, and Kassey Petershin; juniors Austin Gresser, Arielle Kinney, Will Ladrach, Amanda Muetzel, Mekka Clark, Blake Bellman, Cody Dudte, Steph Genet, Hosanna Creasap, Dan Neundorf, Dylan Mehrl, Sam Riffle, Kristen Priest, Zach Carpenter, Billy Hostetler and Whitney Rice; sophomores Adam Krueger, Brittany Whitmore, David Devore, Kerry Alura, Brooke Mowrer, Derek Locklear, Misha Peterson, Cody Thayer, Lucas Hamilton, Jessica Boreman, Nick Fugate, Tesla Valas, Kelsey Redick, Alyssa Al-Jammal, Todd Hinton and Jordan Allen and freshmenTessa Hershey, Brock Kline, Taylor Smith, Cody Bowers, Jessica Hamilton, Savannah Moore, Mitch Dillon, Noah Dupont, Michael Kinney, Addie Hastings, Elissa Lindeman, David Riffle, Cecelia Maxwell, Tessa Topp, Ashley Cromer and Thomas Ostroski.

* * *

JEROMESVILLE, Ohio —The Hillsdale FFA chapter sent Michael Schuck and Andrew Baldner to the Tractor Trouble Shooting State Competition.

The team placed eighth overall and both members were awarded a $1,000 scholarship.

* * *

ASHLAND, Ohio —  Crestview FFA members participated in a community service project with Habitat for Humanity as part of the National FFA Week activities Feb. 24.

Twenty-five FFA members worked with two representatives from Habitat for Humanity to clean a home in Mansfield that will be purchased by a family in need of affordable housing.

The chapter donated 75 community service hours that day.

On Feb. 26, during National FFA Week, the chapter held its annual Community Lunch. The entire community was invited to this event.

Members prepared a meal for more than 150 guests. After the meal, members presented a slideshow about their recent Denver trip.

The guest speaker for the luncheon was former Crestview FFA President Jesse Dotterer.

* * *

CRESTON, Ohio — Nicole Steiner of the Norwayne FFA participated in the State Public Speaking Contest held in Columbus March 21.

Steiner participated in Creed Speaking and placed in the top two in her heat and then finished third in the finals.

* * *

RAVENNA, Ohio — Southeast FFA chapter’s agricultural science students presented mock parliamentary procedures March 3-4.

They presented their procedures to Southeast Local School District’s board of education and district staff members.

The Agricultural Science I students in the first group who presented included Steven Corpening, Dylan Harless, Joe Kinker, Shawn Lawrence, Jena McElfresh, Nathan Worley and Chairpersons Megan Kibler and Tyler Hemberger.

The second group included Richelle Bishop, Heather King, Chris Kinker, Jessica Lutz, Zach Manzella, Jen Silvis, Gene Smith and Chairpersons Becca Swonger and Zack Sallaz.

The third group of Agricultural Science I which presented consisted of Amber Fitch, Derek Martin, John McClain, Greg Phile, Alicia White, Mavrick Zeigler and Chairpersons D.J. Rufner and Monte Thomas.

The Production Agricultural Science III-IV groups who presented consisted of Gary Allen, Joe Bennet, Nick Groves, Todd Hemberger, Nick Hopkins, Joe Howes, Justin Jones, Ryan Kibler, Jon Oriahki, David Robinson, Jake Stuart, Jesse Crawford, Mike Finney, Brandon Helms, Joe Kaster, Sarabeth Larson, Ozzie Thomas and Amanda Zavara.

The master of ceremonies was Amanda Zavara who is also the club’s secretary.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.