A roundup of FFA news for the week of May 7, 2015:


NEW WASHINGTON, Ohio — Sam Robertson, a 2014 graduate of Buckeye Central High School, received the Ohio Star State FFA Degree at the Ohio FFA Convention April 30, in Columbus.

Robertson also was awarded the 2015 Star in Agriculture Placement for his accomplishments in FFA activities, contest success, and in his supervised agricultural experience.

Robertson served as the chapter vice president, was a member of the state-winning urban soil judging team, as well as the Eastern State Regional Champion Farm Business Management Team. Robertson’s SAE started his freshman year when he worked for Cranberry Hills Golf Club and mowed lawns in town.


He was then able to work farm jobs for Kaple Farms and Stahl Farms, both of New Washington.

During Robertson’s sophomore year, he began working for Schroeder Farms of Shelby.

He was also awarded first for the Diversified Crop Production Placement proficiency award and will now compete at the national level.

On May 1, the final day of convention, the chapter had 10 members receive the State FFA Degree: Peter Keller, Austin Wurm, Jaret Shook, Justin Showman, Aaron Niedermier, Megan McGinnis, Miranda Wurm, Ashlee Stander, Ashley Stockmaster and Amanda Stockmaster.

* * *
VINCENT, Ohio — The Warren FFA held its 55th annual parent-member banquet March 21.

Chapter activities and accomplishments included FFA camp, district rural and urban soil contests, the Rainbow Run, Trick or Treat for Cans, 87th National FFA Convention, Barnyard Olympics, job interview contest, ag sales, parliamentary procedure, novice parliamentary procedure contests, district evaluations, the Blue Jackets Program Award, and public speaking contest.

The retiring officer team included: president, Alexis Coffman; vice president, Megan Haffner; secretary, Becca Giffin; treasurer, Cole Welch; reporter, Katlyn Coffman; sentinel, Andrew Fisher; student adviser, Levi Congelton; student development chair, Josh Rauch; chapter development chair, Carly Haffner; and community development chair, Kenny White.

The William Tackett scholarship was awarded to vice president Megan Haffner.

Star Awards were awarded to a member in each grade. The freshman star award was awarded to Logan Renner; sophomore, Carly Haffner; junior, Cole Welch; and senior, Megan Haffner.

Blair Allman and Skyler Hayes received the Blue Jacket Program award.

All senior chapter members presented their senior speeches, and the retiring officer team installed the 2015-2016 officers; president, Cole Welch; vice president, Katlyn Coffman; secretary, Trent Hutchinson; treasurer, Skyler Hayes; reporter, Logan Renner; sentinel, Sean Mulligan; student adviser, Avery Grayson.

Committee chairs will include: student development, Carly Haffner; chapter development, Vanessa Muntz; and community development, Bailey Welch.

* * *
RICHMOND, Ohio — On April 17, the Edison FFA held its annual spring banquet in the cafeteria at the high school.

Fifty-three active first-year members received the Greenhand Degree and ten active second-year members received the Chapter degree.

New officers are Rachael Cline, president; Matthew Randolph, vice president; Julie Miller, treasurer; Sara Waggoner, reporter; Samantha Glenn, secretary; Travis Brand, student adviser, and Syndi Ward, sentinel.

There were also various awards given out to dedicated members, with Tyler Bly being deemed the most dedicated.

The Star Greenhand recipient was Samantha Glenn, and the Star Chapter recipient was Julie Miller. The Honorary Chapter Degree went to Karen Meyer.

The chapter is planning its annual tractor show and car cruise in for May 16, from 9 a.m.-5 p.m., which will also be held at the high school. All profits will go toward the Wounded Warrior Project and the Edison FFA scholarship.

There will be various events for children and adults along with a silent auction. Early drop-off will be on the Friday before, but you may also drive in at any time May 16.

* * *
MILLERSBURG, Ohio — On April 6, the West Holmes FFA chapter sent their new chapter officers to the District Officer Training at Camp Muskingum. These new officers included the president, Jason Jenkins; vice president, Hannah Schlegal; secretary, Paige Miller; treasurer, Lyndsey Davies; sentinel, Carter Smith; historian, Chris VanSickle; and the student adviser, Dylan Harsh.

These officers went through numerous exercises to develop their leadership skills, attended the awards banquet, and expanded their officer understandings with discussions and group activities.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.