A weekly roundup of FFA news for the week of May 8, 2008


OBERLIN, Ohio — Holly Jones of Firelands High School was recently presented the school’s highest agricultural honor, the DeKalb Agricultural Accomplishment Award, sponsored by Monsanto Company.

Jones, the daughter or Lewis and Lora Jones of Oberlin, received the award for excellence in academics, leadership and agricultural work experience. She has served on the FFA Leadership Committee for three years, served as the chairman of the Cooperation Committee, was the 2007-2008 FFA secretary, attended FFA state and national conventions, is member of the parliamentary procedure team and is a member of the soils and livestock judging teams.

She has also earned the highest degree in the state, the State FFA Degree.

Eight FFA members attended the small animal Career Development Event contests April 22 in Columbus. These members competed in the dog obedience event.

The participants were: Aaron Sterk, Delaine Horwedel, Jake Butchko, Brittany Reising and Shelby Balint. Brooke Stanic, Sami Grills and Gabby Glover went to the competition and participated in the written portion only.

Aaron Sterk, a freshman, earned fourth place in state individually. He is also the winner of District 2. He will receive a state award and a district award for finish.

Delaine Horwedel earned second place in the district and Jake Butchko earned third.

* * *

ASHLAND, Ohio — The Mapleton FFA animal management and dog obedience teams traveled to Columbus April 22-23 to compete at the Ohio State Career Development Events Contest.

The animal management team placed 16 out of 25 teams. Team members included Jared Wynn, Hillary Krause, Shelby Emmons, Billy Keener and Garrett Canfield.

The dog obedience team of Falicia Thomas, Mike Hofer, Brandy Mennell and Annie Chereson placed 11 out of 20.

* * *

ALLIANCE, Ohio — At the recent floriculture contest held at Ohio State University Agricultural and Technical Institute, the Marlington FFA team placed sixth overall.

Team members include: Audra Carroll, Liz Conrad, Carrie Faverty, Christine Whitaker, Hannah Oyster, Brittany Schulz and Lauren Hohman.

Also, the chapter held its annual banquet April 30. There were about 100 members and guests in attendance.

There were several awards handed out and honorary members were recognized, including: Jane Conrad, Sandra Bessie and the Zellers.

The 2008-2009 officer team includes: Hannah Oyster, president; Tyler George, vice president; Emily Conrad, secretary; Lauren Hohman, reporter; Lisa Sutton, treasurer; Carrie Faverty, sentinel; and Amber Shoemaker, student adviser.

The chapter planned to attend the 80th Ohio FFA Convention May 2-3.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.