Mapleton FFA annual awards presented


ASHLAND, Ohio — More than 320 members and guests were present for the 2008-2009 Mapleton FFA Annual Awards Ceremony held at the AU Convocation Center Banquet Hall March 11.

The dinner began at 6:30 p.m. following opening ceremonies, the welcome by President Jonni Rohr and invocation by Ross Patton.

The successful chapter was lead by the officer team including Jonni Rohr, president; Jared Wynn, vice president; Shelby Rohr, secretary; Kristy Kline, treasurer; Christine Ritchie, reporter; Emily McKinley, sentinel; Diana Burton, student adviser and Shelby Emmons, historian.



The DEKALB Agricultural Accomplishment Award was presented to senior Christine Ritchie in honor of her achievement in her FFA experience.

She is a senior at Mapleton High School and a four-year member of the Mapleton FFA chapter under the direction of Adviser Charlie Warthling.

She is the daughter of Joyce L. Ritchie of Ashland County and Kenneth L. Ritchie, Jr. of Ross County.

In her four years with the chapter, she has participated in Parliamentary Procedure, Public Speaking and served on the officer team from 2006-2009.

She received her State Degree in 2008 and has been an active participant in the Ashland County Junior and Open Fair.

She has served on the Ashland County Junior Fair Board and was selected to serve as runner-up on the 2008 Jr. Fair Court.

She has served on Student Council for four years and has been active in golf, softball, academic challenge, band and chorus.

She has been a member of the Ashland Symphonic Youth Chorus for 10 years, receiving the Sandra Brown Scholarship Award.

She is currently employed at the Gerwig’s White Barn Grocery and plans to attend The Ohio State University’s Agricultural Technical Institute in Wooster with a major in Horticultural Science.

The Honorary Chapter Member was presented to Angie Brandt, the coach of the Meats Team.


Chapter Farms, Elson Farms, Charles Kettering Farm, Keener Farms, Tobias Farms and Wynn Farms were recognized for the assistance with the chapter and presented with a thank you gift.

Presented as Star Greenhands were Stacey Watts and Hayley Younce.


The Star Chapter Award was presented to Brittney Telakowicz.

The Star Ag-Science I Award was presented to Katie Paramore and Jeremy Rohr and the Star Ag-Science II Award was presented to Emily McKinley.

The Star Ag-Business I Award was presented to Shelby Rohr and the Star Ag-Business II Award was presented to Diana Burton.

The Ag-Business Co-op Award was presented to Garrett Canfield.

The Most Outstanding Officer Award was presented to Kristi Kline who has served the chapter as treasurer for three years and has maintained perfect record books.

The Most Outstanding Judging Team with each member receiving pins was the Parliamentary Procedure Sr. Team for their participation in the state contest.

Fruit sales

The top fruit salesman was Garret Boley and the top fruit saleswoman was Laura Crumrine.

The top 10 salesmen were recognized for their part in this valuable chapter fundraiser.

The Ashland County Junior Fair Award, given based on the level of achieved success and degree of activity, was presented to Jerry Mencl and Jesse Elson.

The Soil Judging Award was awarded to Jared Wynn who qualified for the state contest.

The Parliamentary Procedure Award was presented to Jonni Rohr and the General Livestock Award was presented to Jared Wynn.

The Dog Obedience Award was presented to Brandy Mennell and the Animal Management Award was presented to Hillary Krause.

The Equine Management Award was presented to Annie Chereson and the Big Buck Contest winners were Tyler Knowlton and Garrett Canfield.

The Dairy Foods Award was presented to Paul Mencl and the Job Interview Award was presented to Kyle Wylie.

The Public Speaking Award was presented to Christine Ritchie.


During the evening the Greenhand Degrees, Chapter Degrees and State Degree candidates were recognized and State Convention attendees were recognized.

Those applying for the State Degree included Annie Chereson, Kristy Kline, Jared Wynn, Courtney Hower and Bobby Steiskal.

Alyssa Christian has applied for her American Degree.

Also recognized were the National Convention attendees, the FFA camp participants, coaches, CDE and assistants and parents.


The 21 seniors recognized included Frank Brownson, Diana Burton, Laura Crumrine, Taylor Donley, Kayla Kropka, Shawn MacKenzie, Christine Ritchie, Jonni Rohr, Jerry Mencl, Cody Frazier, Courtney Hower, Ashley Lefever, Brandy Mennell, Brice Huff, Bobby Steiskal, Jesse Elson, Jamie Beard, Annie Chereson, Tyler Knowlton and Kristy Kline.

New officer team

The 2009- 2010 officer team was announced by Adviser Charlie Warthling.

They include Jared Wynn, president; Shelby Rohr, vice president; Shelby Emmons, secretary; Katie Paramore, treasurer; Deandra Lowman, reporter; Garrett Canfield, sentinel; Emily McKinley, student adviser and Brittney Telakowicz, historian.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.