Mercer Co. 4-H’ers receive praise


MERCER, Pa. – Mercer County 4-H members were recognized Nov. 15 for their achievements in the 4-H program.

Eliza Rust and Dustin Douglas were named the outstanding 4-H members in Mercer County for 2003.

These 4-H members must be nominated, fill out an application and be interviewed by several 4-H development committee members.

Project books submitted to the extension office were judged on accuracy, completeness and neatness.

The books include project plans, financial information about their project, different activities that they completed and information on what they learned.

Members recognized for their project books were: Sarah Snyder, Kim Preston, Eliza Rust, Melissa Nanz, Becky Braymer, Sara Schepp, Molly Hallowell, Richelle McCullough, Ashley Saunders, Kacy Scott, Mindy Reed and Pamela Crimbchin.

Officers. Officers for 2004 County Council, a group of 4-H teens who coordinate activities at the county level, are Crystal Robinson, Kim Preston, Erin Parker and Mindy Reed.

Erica Montgomery was recognized as a teen leader.

Dustin Douglas and Jessica Beighly were recognized for serving as counselors at 4-H camp.

Becky Aiken and Jessica Beighly attended the capital days program, which gives 4-H teens the chance to visit our state capital.

Members recognized for their top scores in the judging competition were Brandon Plymate, Dustin Douglas, Katie Stewart, Jeff Dangrow, Josh McConnell, Stacy McLauglin and Nick Somerfield.

New awards. Two new awards were created in 2003. The first award, the Outstanding First-Year Member awards, went to Melissa Bigger, Josh Mauldin, Fawn Miller, Cody Pebbles, Morgan Skidmore, Cassandra Sliwinski and Randi Smith.

The second award, the Emerging Leader was created for 4-H club leaders to nominate youth 11-13, who have exhibited personal growth. Four 4-H youth were recognized: Lauren Eichstadt, Ronald Ferguson, Caitlin Mellon and Laurel Montgomery.

Red, white, blue. During the year, clubs gathered points for the 2003 Blue Ribbon Club Award Program.

Club members participated in a variety of leadership, citizenship, and communication opportunities.

This was the first year for this award program and 11 clubs participated.

There are three recognition levels of blue, red and white.

The following clubs achieved the blue level: Gone Country, No Bull, and Maverick; the red level: Mercer Mounties, and Sew What; the white level: Pins and Needles, Otter Creek, Learning Llamas, Horses R’ Us, and Hare Raisers; and honorable mention went to the Mercer 4-H Shooting Sports.

Over the hill. Members 19 or older as of Jan. 1 can no longer be a 4-H member.

These members were recognized with an Over the Hill award: Kristen Baselj, Sara Black, Shelah Bolyard, Matt Bronson, Shelly Campbell, Maya Courtney, Jeffrey Dangrow, LeAnn Humes, Erik Irwin, Beth King, Timothy Lackey, Kristine Lazzar, Krystal Lazzar, Josh McConnell, Stacy McLaughlin, Travis Sereday, Adam Snyder, Kellie Trask and Leslie Youngblood.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!