National Farmers Union elects Frederickson as its 12th president


IRVING, Texas – Delegates to the National Farmers Union 100th anniversary convention elected Dave Frederickson as the organization’s 12th president.

A fourth-generation family farmer from Murdock, Minn., Frederickson is leaving his post of 11 years as Minnesota Farmers Union president to represent fellow farmers from across the nation as leader of the national organization.

Frederickson, who celebrated his 58th birthday during the convention, is a former educator and state senator.

Top priority. Frederickson said the first priority of his two-year term is getting a good farm bill passed out of conference committee that addresses depressed commodity prices and increasing concentration in agricultural markets.

Getting full support. He was opposed in the race by Terry Detrick, an Ames, Okla., farmer currently serving as his state’s Farmers Union vice president.

Following the vote announcement, Detrick removed a “peace dove” pin from his own lapel and presented it to the newly-elected national president in a gesture of support.

NFU’s president of 14 years, Leland Swenson said he can confidently “pass the torch” knowing the organization is “strong and positioned to provide aggressive and constructive leadership in the years to come.”

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.