Ohio Holstein Association honors Glenn Sageser, Catherine Ramsey

Ohio Holstein Association logo

NEW PHILADELPHIA, Ohio — More than 200 Ohio Holstein Association members, families and friends attended the Ohio Holstein Association annual meeting and luncheon March 12 at the Schoenbrunn/Marlite Convention Center in New Philadelphia, Ohio.

Prior to the start of the luncheon, the Distinguished Service Award was presented to Glenn Sageser, longtime Ohio field man for Holstein Association USA. Sageser, who covers all of Ohio, Kentucky, and Tennessee, was honored for his work with individual herds, encouraging them to register their Holsteins, to participate in national programs, to join and become active in the Ohio Holstein Association and for his help with Ohio Holstein consignment sales and private sales.

Queen crowned

Ella Jackson, daughter of Ray and Colleen Jackson, DeGRaff, Ohio, was chosen as the 2016 Ohio Holstein Queen. Runner-up was Becca Vales, daughter of Stephen and Laurie Vales, Lakeview, Ohio.

Friday evening tours included the following farms: Bill and Tina Deetz and Family, Four Pines Farm, Sugarcreek; and John and Paula Steel, and Family, Steam Valley Farms, Dover.

The winners of the Friday youth judging contest were: Junior Division: 1. Tori Deam; 2. Clay Scott; 3. Allison Steinke; Senior Division: 1. Lisa Weaver; 2. Jim Sheffield; 3. Daryl Duncan.

Additional awards

Progressive Breeder Registry Awards, numerous production awards, and the All-Ohio Awards were presented to both junior and senior members.

Pine-Tree Dairy, Matthew Steiner and Sons, Marshallville, received awards for consigning the top-selling animals in each of the four Ohio Holstein consignment sales in 2015. The Junior Buckeye Breed Builder Award went to Phillip Topp, Topp View Holsteins, Botkins, Ohio. The Senior Buckeye Breed Builder Award went to Lawrence Whiteleather, Whiteleather Holsteins, Minerva, Ohio.

The Ohio Holstein Woman of the Year was Catherine Ramsey, Paradise Valley Farms, Louisville, Ohio. Catherine and husband, Paul, were married in 1950 and have been farming and raising registered Holsteins for many years. Catherine raised a family of five, while helping every day on the farm and keeping the financial records. Both have been active in Ohio Holstein activities throughout the years.

The Esther Welch Scholarship was presented to Matthew Oechsle, Van Wert, Ohio. The JoAnn Bickel Scholarship was given to Emma Mathews, New Vienna, Ohio. The Ohio Holstein Women’s Scholarship went to Anna Miley, West Salem, Ohio.


Officers of the Ohio Holstein Association are president, Randall Kiko; vice president, Paul Haskins; secretary, Suzy Lora; treasurer, Lisa Mangun. Executive board members are Dallas Rynd, Joe Miley, Lamar Liming, and Greg Conrad.

Officers of the Ohio Holstein Women’s Association are president, Betty Whiteleather Johnson; vice president, Louise Harding; secretary, Sara Twining; and treasurer, Lisa Mangun.

Ohio Junior Holstein Association officers are president, Emma Mathews; vice president, Keaton Topp; secretary, Kinley Topp; treasurer, Madelyn Topp; news reporter, Tim Gunkelman. Board members are Louis Liming and Maggie Mathews.

The Ohio Holstein Women’s fun auction netted $1,875, which will be used for scholarships and various activities.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.