Ohio State ag Alumni Award winners named


COLUMBUS — The CFAES Alumni Society recently held its annual Alumni Awards Luncheon in Columbus. The CFAES Alumni Society announced the selection of 12 recipients for recognition at the luncheon, which was held March 2 at Ohio State’s Fawcett Center in Columbus.

Honorees were recognized in the meritorious, distinguished, international and young professional categories during the recognition portion of the program.

Here is a list of this year’s recipients and a brief description of each award:

Meritorious Service Award

The purpose of the Meritorious Service Award is to give public recognition to non-alumni and/or alumni of the college who have been singularly significant in the college’s quest for excellence.

This year’s recipient is Raymond A. Miller, B.S., M.S., Ph.D., Agricultural Education, 1966, 1968, 1976, Hilliard, Ohio.

Distinguished Alumni Award

The Distinguished Alumni Award gives public recognition to those who have brought distinction to themselves and the college at large through their participation, commitment, and leadership.

This year’s recipients are Rodney Bothast, B.S., Animal Science, 1967, East Peoria, Ill.; Nick Christians, B.S., M.S., Agronomy, 1977, 1979, Nevada, Iowa; Jonathan C. Gerken, B.S., Agronomy, 1970, Carroll, Ohio.; Frederick A. Hegele, B.S., Food Technology, 1965, Plymouth, Minn.; Robert M. McClelland, B.S., Agricultural Economics, 1992, Powell, Ohio; Miguel A. Munoz, M.S., Ph.D., Agronomy, 1983, 1988, Mayaguez, Puerto Rico; Dianne E. Shoemaker, B.S., M.S., Dairy Science, 1982, 1986, Canfield, Ohio.

International Alumni Award

The International Alumni Award is presented to outstanding international agriculture alumni who represent, support, and promote the college and Ohio State around the globe. This year’s recipient is Rodrigo A. Chaves, Ph.D., Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology, 1994, Washington, D.C.

Young Professional Award

The Young Professional Achievement Award recognizes alumni for their early professional accomplishments. This award provides recognition for these individuals and serves as a stimulus toward further efforts by younger alumni.

This year’s recipients are Vinodini “Emma” Buck, M.S., Food Science and Nutrition, 2007, Columbus, Ohio; Joseph A. Shultz, B.S., Agribusiness and Applied Economics, 2003, Washington, D.C.; Daniel Toland, B.S., Agricultural Communications, 2005, Marysville, Ohio.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.