West Branch FFA increases recognition


BELOIT, Ohio – The West Branch FFA broke new ground by presenting more awards to upperclassmen than ever before during its annual member-parent banquet April 18. More than 200 members and guests attended the event.

New awards. “We had a lot of really good students to pick from for each of the awards. We thought this year was an excellent opportunity to recognize more students than before,” said Greg Sharp, chapter adviser.

Senior recipients of the newest awards were Kevin Miller, star agricultural business; Mark Miller, outstanding leadership award; Matt Deckerd, achievement; and Erik Martig, outstanding ag student. Kealie Citino was recognized as star chapter farmer.

< Underclassmen./b> Twenty Greenhand awards were presented to first-year FFA students based on participation in FFA activities, academics, school and community activities. Star Greenhand recipients were Lydia Bardo, Adam Deckerd and Bryce Sanor.

Sixteen sophomores received their chapter degrees. For the first time in chapter history, the group presented an outstanding sophomore award to recipient Christina Shinn.

Junior Andy Santee was recognized as top third year student, and 35 members were recognized for third and fourth year participation.

Senior Kevin Miller was also recognized for the agricultural savings award, and Dustin Linder was honored with the high-hours award for his job time commitment.

Other students recognized include Santee, Jen Moore and Luke Merrick, Columbiana and Mahoning County junior fair boards; and Bob Sharpnack and Jason Morgan, 2002 FFA camp participants.

Special awards. School administrators received a plaque to recognize their assistance with the school’s FFA program.

“A lot of vocational programs are sometimes overlooked and pushed to one end of a school building where some faculty and administrators never go. Not at West Branch, and we really appreciate that,” said Mike Bardo, chapter adviser.

West Branch graduate Bryan Boyle was recognized as honorary chapter farmer. Guest speaker was graduate and auctioneer Randall Kiko.

Retiring president Rudy Kiko passed the gavel to 2003 president Andy Santee. Others elected to lead the group in the upcoming year are Landen Sanor, vice president; Christina Shinn, secretary; Jessica Bauman, treasurer; Mark Bandy, reporter; Joel Smith, sentinel; and Levi Bardo, Jake Stryffeler, Eric Miller and Lloyd Picknell, student advisers.

(You can contact Andrea Myers at 1-800-837-3419, ext. 22, or by e-mail at amyers@farmanddairy.com.)


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!