Youth cattle exhibitors among BEST


MARYSVILLE, Ohio -The 2004-2005 Ohio Cattlemen’s Association BEST (Beef Exhibitor Show Total) Program wrapped up June 11 with its annual awards banquet at the Clark County Fairgrounds in Springfield.
More than $25,000 of awards in the form of U.S. Savings Bonds, luggage, coats and show materials, were provided by corporate sponsors and breed associations.
Nearly 500 head of cattle were entered in the BEST program, with almost 300 youth participating in 15 sanctioned shows.
Winners. The following exhibitors were recognized:
Grand champion Angus heifer, Sarah Davis, Ross County; reserve champion, Lindsey Grimes, Highland County; grand champion Angus steer, Erin Ward, Stark County; reserve champion, Abby Kipplinger, Stark County;
Grand champion AOB heifer, Garett Davis, Carroll County; reserve champion, Rachel Linder, Stark County;
Grand champion Chianina heifer, Randy Clinage, Holmes County; reserve champion, Tyler Fielding, Licking County; grand champion Chianina steer, Randy Clinage, Holmes County; reserve champion, Braden Henthorn, Washington County;
Grand champion crossbred heifer, Laura Kline, Stark County; reserve champion, Cameron Alexander, Clinton County; grand champion crossbred steer, Terry Oakes, Clark County; reserve champion, Nick Pontius, Pickaway County;
Grand champion Gelbvieh heifer, Nikki Durban, Madison County; reserve champion, Kelsey Sheeley, Highland County; grand champion Gelbvieh steer, Hunter Sheeley, Highland County; reserve champion, Kimberly Rahe, Wood County;
Grand champion Hereford heifer, Denelle Billman, Tuscarawas, County; reserve champion, Denelle Billman, Tuscarawas County; grand champion Hereford steer, Cory Prosser, Knox County; reserve champion (tie), Denelle Billman, Tuscarawas County, and Brandon Klehm, Stark County;
Grand champion Limousin heifer, Megan Greenawalt, Highland County; reserve champion, Sarah VanHorn, Morgan County;
Grand champion high percentage Maine-Anjou heifer, Madison Clark, Miami County; reserve champion, Cory Wilt, Clark County; grand champion MaineTainer heifer, Scott Puzacke, Tuscarawas County; reserve champion, Paige Kiesewetter, Miami County; grand champion Maine-Anjou steer, Kayla Campbell, Greene County; reserve champion, Leah Geuy, Champaign County;
Grand champion Shorthorn heifer, Victoria Trbovich, Carroll County; reserve champion, Josh Greenhorn , Greene County; grand champion Shorthorn steer, Allison Agle, Clark County; reserve champion (tie), Jacque Knipe, Muskingum County, and Breanna Oakes, Clark County;
Grand champion Appendix Shorthorn heifer (tie), Sarah Porter, Muskingum County, and Curtis Ruhl, Knox County; grand champion Appendix Shorthorn steer, Molly Greenawalt, Highland County; reserve champion, Tiffany Trimmer, Huron County;
Grand champion Simmental heifer, Josh VanHorn, Morgan County; reserve champion, Michelle Linder, Stark County; grand champion Simmental steer, Ben Martindale, Greene County; reserve champion, R.J. Blankenship, Highland County;
Grand champion market heifer, Jacque Knipe, Muskingum County; reserve champion, Kaitlyn Thompson, Miami County.
Bred and owned champions: The top three points winners in the bred-and-owned heifer division were: Garett Davis, Carroll County; Tyler Fielding, Licking County; and Denelle Billman, Tuscarawas County.
The top three points winners in the bred-and-owned steer division were: Kayla Campbell, Greene County; Molly Greenawalt, Highland County; and Davin Sherman, Morrow County.
Showmanship. Showmanship winners included: champion beginner showman, Paige Kiesewetter, Miami County; reserve champion, Madison Clark, Miami County;
Champion junior showman, Molly Greenawalt, Highland County; reserve champion, Ashley Winters, Morrow County; champion intermediate showman, Megan Greenawalt, Highland County; reserve champion, Dwight Hamilton, Highland County;
Champion senior showman, Laura Kline, Stark County; reserve champion, Josh Greenhorn, Greene County.
Leadership. During the BEST awards banquet, junior exhibitors elected new junior representatives for the 2005-2006 season, they are Kayla Alexander, Clinton County; Josiah Pirogowicz, Portage County; and Scott Puzacke, Tuscarawas County.
The BEST committee recognized Steve R. Rauch of Steve Rauch Excavation and Demolition as the first recipient of the Friend of the BEST Program award.
Rauch’s support made it possible for every participant in the final points standing to receive a special BEST windshirt in addition to the scholarships and essay contest awards he has helped establish.
The Clark County Cattlemen’s Association was recognized for organizing the 2004-2005 Outstanding BEST Show, selected from participant surveys.
Scholarships. Brad Dinnen, son of Jay C. and Tammy Dinnen of Greene County, and Terry Oakes, son of Terry and Patti Oakes of Clark County, received the 2004-2005 $1,500 scholarships.
Essay winners. A new addition to this year’s BEST program was an essay contest. In the beginner division: first place went to Jessica Harsh of Delaware County; second, Garett Davis of Carroll County; and third, Hannah Williamson of Coshocton County.
The junior division winner was Caleigh Ott of Huron County. Bailey Harsh of Delaware County; was the intermediate winner and Ben Martindale of Greene County; was the senior winner.
Trailer donation. A raffle drawing included free use for the 2005-2006 season of a livestock trailer complete with BEST logo detailing. Eby Trailer donated the lease, won this year by Becky Wical of Warren County.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!