Getting and giving permission to hunt deer



For the nonhunters who are in the dark as to why the deer population in Ohio is ever-increasing, causing the increase of deer-vehicle accidents in Ohio:

Several years ago the Ohio Division of Wildlife made a ruling requiring hunters to get the private landowners’ written permission to hunt private lands, or face a first-offense punishment of 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.

For a second offense, it was 90 days in jail and a $750 fine.

There are several reasons for the private landowners’ refusal to sign the hunter’s form for written permission to hunt.

Ask the landowners and hunters for the reasons.

The state of Ohio has caused the deer population to get out of check, by interfering with the hunters’ and private landowners’ rights.

I feel the state should be held accountable through lawsuits when a deer-vehicle accident takes place.

Insurance companies and Ohio citizens should come to the aid of the hunters or suffer the consequences.

Edward Rosenberry

North Canton, Ohio

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.