Ashtabula County holds dairy banquet, presents awards


JEFFERSON, Ohio — The 64th Ashtabula County Dairy Banquet was held March 22 at the Lenox Community Center, with 154 people in attendance.

Local dairy farmers were recognized for their milk production achievements, including a couple herds recognized for being Ohio Elite.

Alfa-Creek Brown Swiss Farm of Andover Township was the first-place Brown Swiss herd in Ohio and had the first-place Holstein herd in the state.

The most improved herd rotating trophy was also awarded to Alfa-Creek Farms and the high Energy Corrected Milk award went to Bossy’s Way Farm, of New Lyme Township. Wilson Dairy Farm, of Jefferson Township won the Low Somatic Cell Milk Quality Award.

Five farms were recognized for having top cows in Ashtabula County by breed and age: Alfa Creek Brown Swiss, Alfa Creek Farms, Ringbyre Jersey Farm, Bossy’s Way Farm and Springer Dairy Farm.

Bossy’s Way Farm also had the county’s top producing cow in 2013. One of their cows gave 53,272 pounds of milk, or almost 6,200 gallons.

Family of year

The Ashtabula County Farm Family of the Year award is presented annually to a farm family that simply does things right. This year’s award winner was the Coltman family, from Wayne, Ohio.

Deanna Comp, daughter of Jerry Comp and Linda Comp, of Jefferson, was named the 2014 dairy princess. She replaced retiring princess Bailee Mazzaro.

The Stuart Struna Memorial 4-H Extra Effort Award was presented in memory of Stuart Struna and is given to a 4-H member who shows dairy cows and goes above and beyond.

Finalists recognized were Megan Christo, from the Demark Pioneers; Elizabeth Coltman, from the Williamsfield Dairyaiders; Katherine Eldred, from the Pierpont Mix ‘n Match PACS; Allison Graves, from the Kids ‘n Cows; and Katie Stokes from the Kids ‘n Cows.

Eldred was the selected as overall winner for this award.

Essay contest

The 4-H Dairy Committee also presented the winner of the registered calf essay contest. The contest is held for 4-Hers between 10-15 years of age who compete to win a registered dairy calf.

Youngsters compete by writing an essay and complete an interview on why they would like to win the calf and how they would care for it. The winner donates the first-born heifer calf back to the committee to award to another youngster.

Sydney Millard, from the Pierpont Mix ‘n Match Pacs, won the calf.


Matt Springer and Tom L. Coltman, Jr. were re-elected to serve a two-year term on the Asthabula Dairy Service Unit board of directors. Matt, Tom, Joel Baldwin, Dave Priester and Jason Brinker are the five directors.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.