Columbiana County: Lindsay earns Farm Bureau honors


HANOVERTON, Ohio – Scott Lindsay attributes his success as a farmer to hard work, dedication and his family.
On Sept. 16, the Columbiana County Farm Bureau recognized Lindsay’s success by giving him the group’s highest honor, the Distinguished Service award.
Pine Hill Jersey Farms. When Lindsay purchased his farm from his father in 1987, the cattle herd consisted of about 90 animals.
Today, Pine Hill Jersey Farms has a milking herd of more than 400 and an equal-sized replacement herd.
Ohio Farm Bureau state trustee Jeff Zellers acknowledged Lindsay’s commitment to farming and credited him for making the tough decision to buy a farm in the 1980s.
Lindsay has served two terms on the county Farm Bureau board, hosted numerous farm tours and participates in the Columbiana County Soil Conservation program.
He has earned several other agricultural awards, including top producer and outstanding young farmer of the year.
Before becoming a full-time farmer, Lindsay worked as a diesel mechanic and field tester. However, he decided farming was more a part of him than anything else.
In order to run the best operation possible, Lindsay took classes in animal science and nutrition at Ohio State University after buying his farm. He traveled home on weekends to take care of business at the farm.
Lindsay said he was surprised and honored to receive the award, but noted that he cannot take full credit for it.
“I haven’t done this by myself,” he said.
Lindsay currently employs a staff of 14 people and he and his wife, Tracie, have two children. Their farm is located near New Waterford, Ohio.
Votes, Stars. During the business meeting, members voted to raise yearly dues from $50 to $65, and Nick Kennedy was introduced as the new organization director.
The 2003-2004 committee chairs were also recognized for their contributions to the Farm Bureau.
The following individuals earned Star awards: Connie Heffinger and Julee Kelly, advisory council/young farm couple committee; Lucille Huston, information coordinator; Gerald and Jeff Smith, marketing; Marilyn Althouse, membership; Phil Greenisen, government affairs; Joyce Bailey, safety; Christine Miller, youth; Ruth Marhefka, promotion and education; Kevin Swope, ag ecology; Jim Hoppel, policy development and Marilyn Winn, Nationwide sponsorship.
Homer Althouse, county Farm Bureau president, received a Star award plaque, a membership growth award and the Golden Tractor.
Other business. The group also recognized its 2004 scholarship recipients, Tori Lindesmith and Shanna Miller.
State trustee Gale Betterly told members about the advancements being made by the Farm Bureau in promoting agriculture at COSI Ag Adventures.
In addition, she discussed the “interesting and creative” ways the Farm Bureau met budget demands this year.
Elections. Farm Bureau members elected Homer Althouse, Phil Greenisen, Mike Gruszecki, Dale Lowmiller, Joyce Bailey, Mitch Cottrell, Randy Delposen and Wayne Smith to the county board of trustees.
Marilyn Althouse, Herb Eglie, Wayne Herron and Lucille Huston were elected as delegates to the 2005 state annual meeting. Margaret Eglie and Betty Herron are alternates.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!