Excellency rewarded by Laurel FFA


NEW CASTLE, Pa. – The Laurel FFA’s 51st annual awards banquet took place May 10.
Eighteen of Laurel’s FFA members received their Greenhand awards.
Amanda Mitcheltree was awarded the Star Greenhand Degree for her participation in FFA activities as well as her accomplishments with her dairy herd SAE project.
Chapter degrees. Eight of Laurel’s students received their Chapter FFA Degrees. The Star Chapter Degree was received by Wayne Smail for his success with his SAE projects in the areas of swine finishing, conservation and on-farm work experience.
Awards were also given to 22 members for their high placings in the FFA Career Development Events. Thirteen FFA members received awards for public speaking. Gold, silver, and bronze awards were given to 11 students in recognition of their SAE project record books.
Tyler Patton received the Leadership Award for demonstrating the strongest leadership skills in FFA.
The Academic Scholarship award was given to Lindsay McKissick for achieving the highest academic GPA within the FFA. In addition, a few honorary awards were given.
Memorial award. Lindsey and Emily McKissick were honored with the C. Ronald Mitcheltree Memorial Award for their top placing in dairy judging.
This year’s Dekalb Agricultural Accomplishment Award was given to Ryan Jones for excelling in scholarship, leadership and SAE project success.
Finally, Bonnie Casselberry was awarded the Honorary Chapter Degree for her outstanding support and cooperation with FFA activities.
New officers. Later in the evening the 2007-2008 Laurel FFA officers were installed including: Courtney Battles, president; Tyler Patton, vice president; Ashlee Leasure, secretary; Kate Booher, treasurer; Julie Griffith, reporter; Lindsey McKissick, sentinel; Danny Book, parliamentarian; Joe Cassleberry, chaplain; and Will Nogee, student adviser.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!