A roundup of FFA news for the week of May 16, 2013:


ANDOVER, Ohio — On May 1-2, nine Pymatuning Valley FFA members participated in the 85th annual state FFA convention in Columbus.

Jessica Krulic and Kristen Mook both participated in the Agri-Science fair, and received silver ratings. The chapter was also recognized on stage with a certificate for donating money to Children’s Hospitals.

Randi McCallister, Sara Piper, and Rebecca Dillon were all recognized for receiving gold ratings and 100 percent on their officer books.

Member Blake Hockran received his State Degree.

* * *

WATERFORD, Ohio — The Waterford FFA chapter hosted and celebrated its annual Parent-Member Banquet April 11.

The chapter awarded 18 Greenhand FFA degrees. The chapter also awarded eight chapter FFA degrees. Those receiving the chapter degree included Andrew Bauerbach, Eric Flowers, Cierra Heiss, Colten McCutcheon, David Schaad, Emma Tornes, Chris Townsend and Megan Whalin.

Receiving the outstanding second year member awarded was Megan Whalin. The outstanding third year member award was presented to Allison Adams and the star chapter farmer award was presented to Blake Campbell, Katrina Ford, Megan Giffin and James Whalin.

The Ed Barnett Memorial Awardwent to Katrina Ford and Megan Giffin, and the WHS Alumni WLC scholarship went to Janice Whalin.

Jessica Coulter and James Whalin received the Waterford Grange #231 Agricultural Education Grant.

Allison Adams, Blake Campbell and Katrina Ford were recognized for receiving their State FFA degrees. Travis Ball, Cameron Bookman, Brady Campbell, James Giffin, Breanna Schaad and Laura Whalin were recognized for receiving their American FFA Degrees.

Blake Campbell was recognized for being a state finalist in the diversified livestock production, sheep production and swine production entrepreneurship proficiencies and as a state finalist in the Star State Farmer Award area.

Four-year ag and FFA students recognized included Jessica Coulter, Katrina Ford, Megan Giffin, Kyle Miller and James Whalin. Three honorary members were also installed which included Dawn Close, Cindy Huck and Rachel Miller.

The chapter awarded Beverly Feed & Equipment the Blue & Gold award. Seven FFA members awarded scholarships to attend FFA Camp Muskingum this summer were Audrey Hendershot, Derek Huck, Paige McCutcheon, Emma Tornes, Katie Wagner, Janice Whalin and Megan Whalin.

Derek Huck and Katie Wagner received Chapter scholarships to attend the Washington Leadership Conference this summer.

The 2013-2014 Waterford FFA officer team includes: Blake Campbell, president; Megan Whalin, vice president; Allison Adams, secretary; Janice Whalin, treasurer; Katie Wagner, reporter; Paige McCutcheon, student adviser; and Derek Huck, sentinel.

* * *

HANOVERTON, Ohio — United FFA held their first officer team meeting May 6. The team is as follows; president: Dawn Berry; vice president: Joseph Kataro; treasurer: James Kataro II; reporter: Taylor Sarchet; secretary: MacKenzie Firth; sentinel: Angelo Sabatino; and student advisor: Rebecca Bock.

The agenda consisted of laying aside the possible donation of money to the CROP Church World Services and the Children’s Hospital for the next meeting. The chapter decided to pay for half of their officers’ way to go to a retreat this summer.

Finally, $400 was set aside for tractor repairs. The field committee reported that fertilizer had been ordered and seed had been delivered.

* * *

LOUDONVILLE, Ohio — The Loudonville FFA attended the state FFA Convention May 2-3 in Columbus, with juniors, Shana Esselburn and Elena Hoover, receiving their State FFA degrees, FFA alumni member Crystal Ashby earning the State Honorary degree, and two freshmen winning with their AgriScience Fair division.

Brian (Will) Fraley and Miranda Ricketts won first and a gold rating for the Agriscience fair for the power, structural and technical systems partner division. Their project will move on to national judging at the end of May, with final judging in October.

Other science fair participants were: Moe Aounah and Dustin Regan earning third and a silver rating; Tyler Frazee and Kyle Mellor, earning silver, both in the same division; and Kirsten Augustine, placing silver in the animal science.

Loudonville accepted an award from Children’s Hospital for their donation.

Crystal Ashby received the Honorary State Degree. Shana Esselburn and Elena Hoover received their state FFA degrees.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.