A roundup of FFA news for the week of June 6, 2013:


WASHINGTON COURT HOUSE, Ohio — The 14 members receiving the state FFA degree are the most degrees posted in one year in Miami Trace FFA chapter history. These recipients are: Allison Rife, Hannah Peterson, Evan Schaefer, Brooke Mossbarger, Gus Mitchem, Blayne Toth, Chas Grover, Heather Johnston, Hunter Hobbs, Katie Frost, Kayla Clyburn, Courtney Miller, Sam Macgregor, and Mikayla Mick.
While at the State FFA Convention, chapter members attended convention sessions, and listened to guest speakers.
Sam Jones, a Miami Trace Senior, represented the chapter in the State FFA Band.
The Miami Trace grain merchandising team placed first out of 33 teams participating and 207 individuals. Team member Evan Schaefer was first individually; Charlie Miller, third; Ryan Souther, fifth; and Tyler Horney,19th.
The dairy foods team placed first out of 35 teams participating and 125 individuals. The team consisted of Judith Straathof (first), Nicole Straathof (second), Evan Schaefer (fourth), and Jesse Neff (42nd).
The dairy cattle judging team won the state title, from a field of 52 teams. Team members were Barbara Sears (sixth), Ginna Climer (seventh), Sam MacGregor (eighth), and Brooke Mossbarger (22nd).
The equine team also won the contest, out of 133 teams and 658 individuals. Team members were Blake Pitstick (third), Tabitha Morris (fourth), Abbie Noble (ninth) and Bethany Reiterman (35th).
The general livestock team placed second out of 145 teams and 753 individuals. The team members were Jacob Rose (sixth), Caleb Penwell (seventh), Caroline Hughes (17th), and Brock Wilt (30th).
The meats team placed second, out of 22 teams and 103 individuals. Team members were Cheyenne Wright (seventh), Mikayla Mick (eighth), Kayla Clyburn (ninth), and Blayne Toth (10th).
The Novice Parliamentary Procedure team was recognized for winning state. The team consists of Riley Evans, Sara Rowland, Ginna Climer, Kameron Rinehart, Zach Ault, Bethany Reiterman, and Brock Wilt.
Riley Evans won the Greenhand Quiz CDE, and Katie Frost was recognized as the high individual in the Agricultural Communications Career Development Event.
The Dairy Foods, Dairy Cattle, Horse and Novice Parliamentary Procedure teams will compete in the national contest in October.
Hannah Peterson and Tori Wilt received the reporter’s book gold pin, and Sam MacGregor and Evan Schaefer received the treasurer’s book gold pin. Also, Riley Evans received first place and a gold rating for his Agriscience Fair Project. As a whole, the chapter received a gold rating.
Proficiency awards. In the area of forestry and management, Charlie Miller placed second in the state proficiency award competition.
In the area of swine production entrepreneurship, Gus Mitchem placed third statewide, and in the area of diversified horticulture, Tori Wilt won the state contest.
In the area of Agricultural Processing, Tanner Mick also won the state honor.
Wilt and Mick will advance to the national competition in October to determine their final national placement.
* * *
MILLERSBURG, Ohio — The West Holmes chapter traveled to state convention in Columbus May 2-3. Members who attended state convention were Hannah Schlegel, Mandy Taylor, Audrey Ivers, Paige Miller, Shyann Kick, Lyndsey Davis, Tory Eggers, Jillian Gurley, Gretchen Straits, Beth Klein, Rachael Yerian, Elizabeth Overholt, Samantha Krejci, Brandon Miller, Jason Jenkins, Atlee Miller, Matt Schlegel, Alex Miller, Carter Smith, Cole Woods, Jeared Miller, Grayson Miller, Justin Lorentz, Gabe Armstrong, and Clay Armstrong.
Chapter members who participated in the Ohio FFA Band or Choir included Tory Eggers, Rachael Yerian, and Justin Lorentz.
Grayson Miller, Atlee Miller, Matt Schlegel, Clay Armstrong, Megan Miller, Courtney Kozak, Beth Klein, and Mandy Taylor received their state FFA degrees.
Secretary Mandy Taylor, Treasurer Samantha Krejci, and Reporter Audrey Ivers were recognized for receiving a gold rating on their officer books.
Also on stage were proficiency finalists Clay Armstrong, Gretchen Straits, Beth Klein, Travis Campbell, and Marshall Overholt.
Armstrong was named a state winner in forage production and will go on to compete at the national level this summer.
Straits placed third in beef placement, Klein placed third in equine science placement, Campbell placed second in equine science placement, and Overholt placed second in diversified agriculture.
Casey Schlauch was on stage as the retiring District 8 President and Elizabeth Overholt took her place as the 2013-2014 District 8 President.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.