Young cattle showmen win honors through Ohio’s BEST program

BEST program Make a Wish
BEST Participants raised $19,052 for Make-A-Wish. Abigail Thornton, Amanda, Ohio, was the top fundraiser and received a $500 Weaver Leather Livestock gift certificate. Participants raising $50 or more were also entered to win a $500 gift certificate, and Megan Becker, Whipple, Ohio was selected as the drawing winner. Pictured from left are Megan Becker, Whipple, Ohio; Jennie Rogers, Sidney, Ohio; Abigail Thornton, Amanda, Ohio; and John Hykes, Make-A-Wish. Jennie’s son, Seth, was granted a wish and enjoyed working with cattle alongside his family. A trophy was presented in memory of him at the Celebrity Showdown in February.

MARYSVILLE, Ohio — The 2015-2016 Ohio Cattlemen’s Association BEST (Beef Exhibitor Show Total) Program wrapped up May 7 with its annual awards banquet held at the Ohio Expo Center in Columbus. Nearly 600 participants and their families attended the event.

This year’s BEST program featured 15 sanctioned shows across the state with over 550 youth participants showing 740 head of market animals and heifers. Several representatives from program sponsor were on hand to help present awards totaling more than $50,000 in belt buckles, luggage, show materials and other awards.

BEST participants’ efforts in academics and extracurricular activities were recognized through the BEST Scholarship program. Winning $1,000 scholarships were Adison Niese, Richland County; Cole Liggett, Tuscarawas County; and Natalie Wagner, Brown County.

BEST program Kinley Kreis
Kinley Kreis (right), Adamsville, Ohio, won the free use of a 8-by-26 livestock trailer for the 2016-2017 BEST season, courtesy of Eby Trailer, represented by Steve Rittenhouse.

Trailer winner

Participants in this year’s program received an entry into the drawing for the free use of an Eby Trailer complete with BEST logo detailing for the 2016-2017 BEST season. Participants were given an entry for every animal they showed at each show throughout the season equaling more than 4,300 entries. Kinley Kreis, Adamsville, Ohio, won the use of the trailer.

BEST program Levi DeLong
Novice participant Levi DeLong, Laurelville, Ohio, won a new show box in a novice-only drawing, donated by Weaver Leather Livestock, represented by Rachelle Vance and Angela Shoemaker.

Community service

BEST participants worked this season to raise money for two charities, Make-A-Wish Foundation and the Ronald McDonald House. Haley Frazier, Jackson, Ohio, received a $500 gift certificate for a shopping spree with Weaver Leather Livestock for collecting the most pop tabs for the Ronald McDonald House Charity.

Abigail Thornton, Amanda, Ohio, received a $500 gift certificate to be used on show supplies with Weaver Leather Livestock for being the top fundraiser in the Make-A-Wish project. Megan Becker, Whipple, Ohio, was also a top fundraiser and received a $500 gift certificate.

Photography contest

Three winners were awarded in each age division and an Editor’s Choice and Editor’s Choice Honorable Mention were selected from all submissions. The winners included: Beginner: 1. Morgan Love, Fairfield Co.; Junior: 1. Amanda Annett, Knox Co.; Intermediate: 1. Emily Dahse, Gallia Co.; Senior: 1. Kelsey Decker, Fairfield Co. Editor’s Choice: Kelsey Decker, Fairfield Co.; Editor’s Choice Honorable Mention – Amanda Annett, Knox Co.

During the BEST awards banquet, the following new junior representatives for the 2016-2017 season were announced: Karigan Blue, Henry County; Brianna Ellish, Miami County; Haley Frazier, Jackson County and Kyle Piscione, Medina County. Continuing for her second term is Natalie Wagner, Brown County.

The following showmen received breed division honors:

Angus. Champion heifer: Nevaeh Powers, Fulton Co.; reserve heifer: Michelle Bockelman, Henry Co.; champion steer: Carly Sanders, Highland Co.; reserve steer: Jacob LeBrun, Scioto Co.

Chianina. Champion heifer: Kathy Lehman, Richland Co.; reserve heifer: Abbie Collins, Preble Co.; champion steer: Kinley Kreis, Muskingum Co.; reserve steer: Ethan Davies, Wood Co.

Hereford. Champion heifer: Hudson Drake, Ross Co.; reserve heifer: Austin Hunker, Huron Co.; champion steer: Noah Smith, Sandusky Co.; reserve steer: Jackson Grimes, Logan Co.;

Maine-Anjou. Champion High % Maine-Anjou heifer: Adison Niese, Richland Co.; reserve High % Maine-Anjou heifer: Kinley Kreis, Muskingum Co.; champion MaineTainer heifer: Kathy Lehman, Richland Co.; reserve MaineTainer heifer: Dalton Kennedy, Adams Co.; Champion steer: Lori Millenbaugh, Crawford Co.; reserve  steer: Lindsey Pugh, Stark Co.;

Shorthorn. Champion heifer: Taylor Morbitzer, Franklin Co.; reserve heifer: Jessica Millenbaugh, Crawford Co.; champion steer: Emma Mathews, Clinton Co.; reserve steer: Tanner Cordes, Montgomery Co.; Champion ShorthornPlus heifer: Allison Davis, Carroll Co.; reserve heifer: Reilly Jacobs Bell, Muskingum Co.; champion ShorthornPlus steer: Noah Cox, Athens Co.; reserve steer: Victoria Waits, Fayette Co.;

Simmental. Champion heifer: Olivia Dickson, Licking Co.; reserve heifer: Cade Liggett, Tuscarawas Co.; champion % Simmental heifer: Brooke Hayhurst, Wayne Co.; reserve heifer: Austin Garner, Butler Co.; champion steer: Kinzee Shafer, Preble Co.; reserve steer: Delaney Jones, Allen Co.;

AOB. Champion heifer: Austin Hunker, Huron, Co.; reserve heifer: Austin Schneder, Clinton Co.; champion steer: Zane Davison, Madison Co.; reserve steer: Kennedy Thompson, Clinton Co.;

Miniature. Champion heifer: Isaac Wiley, Morrow Co.; reserve heifer: Walker Wiley, Morrow Co.; champion steer: Franklin Kinney, Logan Co.; reserve steer: Henry Strow, Wood Co.;

Market heifer. Champion heifer: Kendra Gabriel, Pickaway Co.; reserve heifer: Austin Schneder, Clinton Co.;

Crossbred. Champion heifer: Destiny LaFever, Ashland Co.; reserve heifer: Kendra Gabriel, Pickaway Co.; champion steer: Abigail Myers, Tuscarawas Co.; reserve steer: Kendra Gabriel, Pickaway Co.

Bred & Owned. Champion Bred & Owned heifer: Kathy Lehman, Richland Co., MaineTainer; reserve champion, Ashley Buell, Licking Co., MaineTainer; Champion Bred & Owned steer: Wally Minges, Butler Co.,  ShorthornPlus; reserve champion: Ian Gehret, Darke Co., Maine-Anjou.

Showmanship winners

Novice: 1. Allison Herr, Fulton Co.; 2. Drew Browning, Muskingum Co.; 3. Luke Brinksneader, Darke Co. Beginner: 1. Hudson Drake, Ross Co.; 2. Ellie Day, Ross Co.; 3. Karlie Kennedy, Adams Co. Junior: 1. Victoria Waits, Fayette Co.; 2. Chris Tooms, Muskingum Co.; 3. Harrison Blay, Portage Co. Intermediate: 1. Allison Davis, Carroll Co.; 2. Dalton Kennedy, Adams Co.; 3. Lori Millenbaugh, Crawford Co. Senior: 1. Taylor Morbitzer, Franklin Co.; 2. (tie) Kendra Gabriel, Pickaway Co.; and Jessica Millenbaugh, Crawford Co.; 3. Emma Mathews, Clinton Co.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.