Hillsdale FFA honors members


JEROMESVILLE, Ohio – Members of Hillsdale FFA were recognized for their accomplishments during the chapter’s annual parent-member banquet April 24 at Hillsdale High School.

Star Greenhand. Jed Bookman won the Star Greenhand award, which was given to the member in the freshman class who received the most points in the Ag I class.

The member who is the next highest from the class is awarded the outstanding member award. This year’s outstanding members were Megan Harned and Lauren Jacobs.

The Star Chapter award was given to the member who has the highest points in all the other Ag production classes combined.

This year’s Star Chapter award went to Jillian Morgan. The outstanding members in Ag II were Levi Hazlett and Hannah Crossen. In Ag III, the award went to Leanne Wilson and in Ag IV, the outstanding member awards went to Bob McNaull and Mandy Bisesi.

DeKalb winner. James Poynter was the recipient of the DeKalb Agricultural Accomplishment Award. This award is given to the member who is proficient in leadership, scholarship, and agricultural work ethic.

The fifth period Ag. I class officers were Jed Bookman, president; Brandon Mosher, vice-president; Megan Harned, secretary; Tasha Graffice, treasurer; Brittany Moffett, reporter; Brandon Glass, sentinel; and Alex Baraty, student adviser.

The officers from the seventh period class were Lindsey Raubenolt, president; Lauren Jacobs, vice-president; Megan Farquhar, secretary; Paige Galligher, treasurer; Windy Coble, reporter; Greg Heiby, sentinel; and Emily Massie, student adviser.

Saying thanks. Certificates of appreciation were awarded to those individuals who helped the chapter throughout the year, including Brandon Briggs, Mike Meyer, Lynnette Taylor, Aaron Bates, Lahmers Dairy Farm, Spring Hill Farm, Marla Stone, Tom Ambrose, Deb Miller, Christina Wilfong, Abbey Browns, Thiel’s Replacement Systems, Bryan Eichelberger, and Mike and Janelle Geiger.

This year’s Honorary Chapter Degree was awarded to Mary Bisesi, who has attended and chaperoned two national conventions and one state convention for the past four years and also transported members to various contests.

Allan and Kathy Zickefoose of A&K Exterminating were also honored for their help in the greenhouse and the donation from the company in time, labor, and supplies by spraying plants for various pests.

Fruit sales. Three members who had outstanding efforts in fruit sales were Paul Bicker, first; Kara Frank, second; and Matt Lahmers, third. These members received a trophy for their efforts.

In the freshman class, the notebook winners were Greg Heiby and Megan Farquhar and the record book winner was Alex Baraty.

In the sophomore class, the notebook winner was Chelsea McLellan and the record book winner was Kara Frank.

In the junior class, the winner of both notebook and record book was Gwen Snyder.

In the senior class, the notebook winner was Mandy Bisesi and the record book winner was Jessica Murray.

Katrina Helbert was the Junior Ag Business winner and the Senior Ag Business record book went to Jessica Murray. The notebook was awarded to Katie Flickinger

Ag business winners. The Ag Business classes are separate and their points were added up and then a star agribusiness award was given.

The star agribusiness award was given to Katie Flickinger. The outstanding member award in Jr. Ag Business went to Gwen Snyder and in the Sr. Ag. Business, the award went to Meggie Smith.

Officers. The officer installation ceremony was the last part of the program.

The new officers for the 2004-2005 year are: Hannah Crossen, president; Levi Hazlett, vice-president; Gwen Snyder, secretary; Chelsea McLellan, treasurer; Kim Fulk, reporter; Justin Morgan, sentinel; Tim Whitcomb, student adviser; Jed Bookman, Historian; Kevin Obrecht, parliamentarian; and Kara Frank, chaplain.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!