Juniors show winners at Beef Expo


COLUMBUS – Junior exhibitors took their turn in the winners’ spotlight during action at the Ohio Beef Expo, March 15-17 in Columbus.

Youth showmanship winners in the beginners category were Hanna Winegardner, first; Meghan Manning, second; Shelby Vermellion, third; Curtis Ruhl, fourth; and Jordan Gilbert, fifth.

Junior showman placings were Kayla Cambell, first; Jason Manning, second; Hannah Nelson, third; Ryan Borer, fourth; and Megan Greenawalt, fifth.

Winners in the intermediate category were Cody Herman, first; Scott Winkle, second; Amanda Lee, third; Stefanie Lutmer, fourth; and Mathew Smythe, fifth.

Senior showmanship honors went to Katie Sutherly, first; Josiah Pirogowicz, second; Clint Barnes, third; Erin McKinniss, fourth; and Rachel Davis, fifth.

Junior steers. Overall grand champion steer honors went to Craig Barhorst of Shelby County. Katie Sutherly of Miami County took reserve.

Grand and reserve placings for junior show steers, by breed, include:

Angus: Sara Kirby, Montgomery County, grand champion; Jessica Gaddis, Knox, reserve.

Chianina: Andrea Schuffenecker, Ottawa, grand champion; Brandon Pontius, Pickaway, reserve.

Hereford: Anthony Neel, Fairfield County, grand champion; Jenny Beanblossom, Darke County, reserve.

Maine Anjou: Mark McDonell, Tuscarawas County; grand champion.

Shorthorn: Angie Barhorst, Shelby, grand champion; LV Kline, Stark, reserve.

Simmental: Jason Hetrick, Sandusky, grand champion.

AOB: Candi Anderson, Huron, grand champion.

Crossbred: Rick Clark, Miami, division 1 grand champion; Mike Clark, Miami, reserve; Craig Barhorst, Shelby, division 2 grand champion; Mandy Lacy, Muskingum, reserve; Stephanie Riley, Muskingum, division 3 grand champion; Alex McCullough, Hardin, reserve; Katie Sutherly, Miami, division 4 grand champion; Clint Barnes, Fulton, reserve.

Junior heifers. Results of the junior heifer show, by breed:

Angus: Travis Jones, Allen, grand champion; Megan Weisel, Stark, reserve.

Chianina: Louise Kline, Stark, grand champion.

Hereford: Cody Herman, Putnam, grand champion; Katie Beanblossom, Darke, reserve.

Limousin: Megan Greenawalt, Highland, grand champion; Montana Day, Erie, reserve.

Maine Anjou: Jon Birney, Summit, grand champion; Erin Walker, Highland, reserve.

Shorthorn: Trey Vollmar, Ross, grand champion; Joshua Greenhorn, Greene, reserve.

Simmental: Kendra Dircksen, Darke, grand champion; Sarah Smith, Seneca, reserve.

AOB: Kelsey Sheeley, Highland, grand champion.

Commercial: Nick Hunter, Clark, grand champion; Adam Hites, Hardin, reserve.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!