Northwestern FFA applauds members


WEST SALEM, Ohio – Fourteen members of the Northwestern-Wayne FFA chapter will receive State Degrees at Ohio’s annual state convention.
This award goes to only the state’s top FFA members. Northwestern students who have earned this honor are Andrew Castella, Jillian Hastings, Janessa Hill, Brent Hostettler, Emily Krueger, Erica Lang, Erica McGinnis, Jason Miley, Todd Mole, Bob Neer, Michelle Ruegsegger, Cassie Wellert, Jessica Wilcox and Stephanie Yost.
Celebrate success. The chapter celebrated a successful year during its annual awards banquet April 21.
At the banquet, the chapter recognized 57 members for completing the requirements for a Greenhand Degree. Sebastian Jackson is the Star Greenhand with Alison McGinnis as the runner-up.
The Star Chapter recipient is Kyle Schirm. The Star County degree recipients were Wilcox and Erica McGinnis.
The Dekalb award went to Yost.
Scholarships. The Northwestern-Wayne FFA Alumni and Friends awarded $500 scholarships to Yost and Erica McGinnis. Erica McGinnis also received a $250 scholarship from Cargill to attend the Washington Leadership Conference.
Mole was the recipient of the Commodity Blenders Scholarship.
Outstanding sales people for 2007 include Heidi Tegtmeier (58.5 boxes of fruit) and Cera Chio (more than 20 boxes of fruit). Yost sold 1,400 pounds of sausage, while Mole came in second for his sausage sales.
The chapter recognized Hill with the Co-outstanding Committee Chairperson award. Hill organized the Partner in Active Learning Support committee, which visited the Northwestern Elementary School several times a year and participated in the classrooms to help the teachers with their lessons.
Krueger also received the Co-outstanding Committee Chairperson award for her work with the Ag in the Classroom program.
Other awards. Twenty-one students received Proficiency Awards for their outstanding Supervised Agricultural Experience.
Mole and Yost earned the Leadership Award for leading the chapter in day-to-day activities.
The Scholarship Award was given to 36 FFA members who earned straight As in agriculture during the first three quarters of the school year.
Officers installed at the banquet include: Erica McGinnis, president; Bob Neer, vice president; Wilcox, secretary; Jackson, treasurer; Alisha Browning, reporter; Shanna Varner, sentinel; and Danae Mulligan, student adviser with general assistant Schirm.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!