Northwestern FFA honors members


WEST SALEM, Ohio – Members of the Northwestern FFA wrapped up their year with the annual member recognition banquet to recognize outstanding members and adults who had supported the chapter during the year.

Dekalb award winner.

Andrea Keener was tapped as the recipient of the Dekalb Award. She has served as a chapter officer, was a member of the national parliamentary procedure team, participated in judging contests, including the winning state dairy judging team, and received her State FFA degree.

Kevin Fath received the Star County Farmer Degree. Fath has served as a chapter officer, was a member of the national parliamentary procedure team and participated in the Ag Sales Career event and was a member of the general livestock judging team.

Star awards.

Alicia Ousley was named as the Star Chapter Farmer. She has participated in public speaking, was a member of the parliamentary procedure team and the Dairy Foods judging team, as well as the chapter’s top citrus sales person.

Allison Gortner and Kara Neer were selected as the Star Greenhands. Both Neer and Gortner participated in parliamentary procedure, took part in the FFA Creed contest, with Gortner placing second in the district and receiving a gold rating at the state contest.

State FFA degrees.

Kevin Fath, Angela Hartman and Trent Hershey were recognized as 2001 State FFA Degree recipients, while Kristin Flowers was recognized as a Star State Degree candidate and a Star State Proficiency finalist in the area of dairy production.

Flowers, Kelly Fath and B.J. Eick were recognized as American FFA Degree candidates.

Recognized as four-year scholarship award recipients were Angela Hartman, Andrea Keener, Laura Mole and Abbie Gortner.

Jeff Bogzevitz, Lee Kimmich, Kevin Fath and Andrea Keener were recognized for placing first in the District Ag Sales Career event.

Mallory Boreman and Brandon Mower were recognized for participating in the Dairy Handlers contest during the state FFA dairy judging contest.

State champions.

Members of the winning state dairy judging team were Andrea Keener, Mole, Hartman, Jesse Berger, Ryan Lingle, and Ruth Ann Keener.

Officers for 2001-2002 were elected. They include Lee Kimmich, president; Kevin Fath, vice president; Ruth Ann Keener, secretary; Jill Tegtmeier, treasurer; Stephanie Mark, reporter; Jeff Bogzevitz, sentinel; and Trent Hershey, student adviser.


Up-to-date agriculture news in your inbox!