Ohio farmers shape U.S. ag policies


DENVER – The Ohio Farmers Union has adopted a strong grassroots policy supporting the extension the current farm bill and the adoption of disaster assistance legislation for farmers and ranchers. It has also adopted policy in opposition to the proposed 2007 federal budget, which places 25 percent of the nation’s budget cuts on USDA programs.
The policies were adopted by Ohio Farmers Union delegates to the National Farmers Union 104th convention March 3-6 in Denver.
Delegates. Delegates who formed the policy were: Mary Grassbaugh of Knox County, Roger Wise of Sandusky County, Tony Giesige of Henry County, Louis Smith of Sandusky County, and Ohio Farmers Union President Joe Logan of Trumbull County.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.