Ohio first lady and ag department announce Ag Women of Year


Ohio Department of Agriculture

COLUMBUS — Ohio First Lady Karen W. Kasich and Ohio Agriculture Director David T. Daniels recently announced four 2012 Ohio Agriculture Women of the Year award winners.

“These Ohio women have had an incredible impact on our state’s largest industry,” said Kasich, who announced the creation of the award during last year’s Ohio State Fair.

Award winners included:

Amy Sigg Davis (Lebanon).

Davis has successfully managed her family farm since 1987, growing soybeans, corn and wheat, and is a licensed real estate broker specializing in farm brokerage. Davis was instrumental in the development of the Ohio Soybean Council’s research program for new uses of soybeans, which has resulted in national awards and multiple patents.

She has also worked to expand export opportunities to Japan, and played a pivotal role in the development of an Ohio trade office in China.

Stephanie Jolliff (Kenton)

Jolliff raises beef cattle, hogs and chickens on her family farm in Hardin County, and is an agriculture education teacher and FFA adviser at Ridgemont High School. She has secured more than $200,000 in grants to extend her agriculture education program and enhance student experiences.

Under Stephanie’s leadership, Ridgemont High School FFA was twice named the winner of the National Chapter Model of Innovation and Ohio’s top chapter.

Karen Oberst (Findlay)

Oberst started her own commercial dairy farm in 2007, the first dairy start-up in Hancock County for more than 35 years. Oberst was the first woman to serve on the board of the Hancock County Soil and Water Conservation District.

She has worked as a field environmental scientist for the Ohio EPA, an adjunct faculty member at the University of Findlay, and offered education programs at the Hancock Park and the Historic McKinnis House at Litzenberg Memorial Woods Farmpark.

Bev Roe (Hamilton)

Roe operates Pedro’s Angus farm in Butler County, a seedstock operation which uses the latest technologies for genetics improvements, and previously operated Pedro’s Angus Steakhouse restaurant chain.

Dedicated to Ohio agriculture, she hosted a media tour of her farm in 2011 and advocated the creation of the Ohio Livestock Care Standards Board in 2009. Earlier this year, the Roes received the state’s 2012 Beef Industry Excellence award from their peers.

New this year, the award program is administered through the Ohio Department of Agriculture and the Office of the First Lady.

Winners were selected on the basis of their outstanding contributions to Ohio agriculture, leadership and advocacy in the agricultural community and significant impact on the agriculture industry as a whole.

Get our Top Stories in Your Inbox

Next step: Check your inbox to confirm your subscription.



We are glad you have chosen to leave a comment. Please keep in mind that comments are moderated according to our comment policy.

Receive emails as this discussion progresses.